SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 100289 12/3/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $1,250.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
7.50
spacerspacer
7.75
1nikon14f28a1.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm Tested


123click

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 7
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor review by 123click
Review Date: 12/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Central to foreground sharpness and zero window glare problems.
Cons: can't protect it with a filter and some moustache distortion.

This lens may be a soft out on the corners at full aperture for sharpness but it more than makes up for it with central and foreground sharpness which astounds me no end, and it is only when pixilation become an issue with my D700 camera sensor image quality becomes an issue.


I usually avoid having round objects like clocks on a wall or cups on a coffee table in the corners of the image for such ultrawide lenses because they become strangely elongulated so I rarely have anything much worthwhile in the corners anyway and place the more important elements of the image closer to the centre of the image which is where the sharpness of this lens is untouchable. When shooting with this lens I usually have it set for f8 to f11 and never below f5.6 because I only use such lenses to maximize the depth of field.


No perceptable window glare is another strong point in this lens which is a big issue with my 20mm. I can shoot interior shots with this lens and there is none of that nasty halo around the windows at all and fine detail such as with leadlight window's leading was completely untroubled by the strong background light.
mrcontinental

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 7
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor review by mrcontinental
Review Date: 6/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A professional caliber prime lens
Cons: Only takes gel filters

This len when found under $1000 is still a fine performer and value. Gives sharp contrasty images as long as you watch where you point it avoiding light sources on the front element. Can still be used on your manual focus bodies from yesterday with it's aperture ring intact.


Has been superseded by the excellent 14-24 f2.8 which is quite sharp out to the corners so if price is not an issue go for it.
ddt332

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor review by ddt332
Review Date: 10/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $1,450.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Build quality is OK
Cons: pricy, IQ

This lens doesn't have any reason to exist anymore. The same priced Nikon 14-24 beat it hands down. Go for the 14-24 zoom!
ddk

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor review by ddk
Review Date: 8/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: ultra wide angle with low distortion and high image quality
Cons: expensive

Contrary to some of the reviews that I've seen I'm fairly satisfied with this lens. It has very good color and contrast, sharpness is acceptable and f2.8 but gets much sharper as you stop down.


It has a substantial build which I like with good, smooth manual focusing. I haven't noticed any CA with my cameras but its prone to flaring, so don't point it towrds sun


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.