SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 15450 2/19/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $79.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.10
spacerspacer
9.14
spacerspacer
9.00
1lowepro-slingshot200aw.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW. Perfect for photojournalists, the SlingShot 200 AW uses a unique sling design to go from “carry mode” to “ready mode” in just seconds. Carried comfortably on the back, it easily rotates to the front so you can get to your camera quickly. The SlingShot 200 AW holds an SLR with mid-range zoom lens attached 3–4 extra lenses, cables and accessories and has a full access lid to make loading it a snap. This feature-rich bag also includes a built-in memory card pouch, micro fiber LCD cloth and two generous organizer pockets. It’s certain to surprise even the most demanding photojournalists.



Specifications:

  • Type: Sling Pack, All Weather
  • Available Colors: Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant micro fiber, ripstop nylon and 600D TXP™
  • Type of Closure: Zippers, quick release buckles
  • Capacity: 1 SLR with attached compact zoom lens, 3-4 extra lenses or flash unit
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 22 x 15 x 30 cm / 8.7 x 5.9 x 11.8 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 23.8 x 18 x 44 cm / 11 x 5 x 15 in.
  • Weight: 980 g / 2.16 lb
  • Notes: The ergonomic sling strap evenly distributes equipment weight while in the “carrying position”; The unique design of the SlingShot allows the user to rotate the bag to its “access position”, quickly and easily; While in the “access position” the user can easily get to camera equipment, extra lenses and memory cards while still wearing the bag.; Ergonomic Sling Strap and SlipLock™ Attachment Loops; Built-in Memory Card Pouch and Full Access Lid; All Weather Cover™; SlipLock™ Attachment Loops and Tuck-Away Stablility Strap; Built-in micro fiber LCD cloth protects LCD screen from camera strap, nicks and scratches. Mesh covered back pad & sling strap provides breathable comfort during long treks; Zip-Stop Buckles and Silent Zipper Pulls

Keywords: Lowepro Sling-Pack AW


cyrusuncc

Registered: February 2010
Posts: 1
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by cyrusuncc
Review Date: 2/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy access to camera
Cons: can't change side of the sling

Nice day bag with easy access to the camera.
Masselink

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by Masselink
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Slingshot! - Great Quality
Cons: Can be worn only one way.

This bag outperformes all older bags i owned. allthough it isn't big, you can still carry alot of equipment with you. (D80 + 18-70mm + 70-300VR + extra Accu + Accu loader + cables + cleaning material). The top compartment is still completely empty.


Getting the camera is a piece of cake. With my old bag i was always scared something might fall out.


The extra strap to secure the bag on you bag is excellent. Ít doesn't feel uncomfortable. The only downside as mentioned here before is that it's not possible to wear it on your other shoulder.
bulldog

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by bulldog
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Like others have said, a switchable shoulder strap (right to left) would be a nice addition. The 100's too small, 300's too big but the 200's just right. All in all, terrific concept at a great price.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wery smart backpack, that offers instant access to photo equipment
Cons: A little on the small side, no attachment for tripod

I got this for christmas (but I wanted it). I could have waited for the 300 (bigger) but this one suits my needs most of the time. The design is wery nice and offers unrivaled acces for a backpack. You can squeeze in quite a number of optics and flashes in this one and still have good access. Just a really nice product.
aryko

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 9
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by aryko
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $99.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent design and capacity
Cons: Sometimes a bit hard on the one shoulder.

All I can do is echo everyone's positive comments. I switched to this bag when I found I had to take off my Lowepro Microtrekker 200 everytime I wanted to change a lens. With the Slingpack, you just rotate it around and all your gear is at your fingertips. In addition, you can use it as a makeshift shooting table if your straps are cinched up tight.


It can store alot more gear than you'd think. The first thing I did was reconfigure the velcro dividers so all my lenses were accessible without having to open the main pouch all the way. Otherwise, it's not much more useful than a backpack.


It does come with a balancing strap that is supposed to stop it from swinging and distribute some of the load, but it doesn't do that much of a job of it; if your load is heavy enough in this bag, you will feel it on your right shoulder after a while. Given the bag's design, you can't switch shoulders.


Other than that, it's a winner for what it's meant to do.
Kong47

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by Kong47
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $79.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: size, price, ease of use, waterpoof
Cons: wish lenses could be inserted in other direction

This is a very nice sling bag for hiking or traveling. It holds an SLR with attached mid-range zoom, 2-3 more lenses, and a flash unit, plus filters, batteries, memory card, etc. I can pack quite a bit into it. The internal pockets can be changed because of the velcro compartments. Construction quality is good. Heavily padded, strong "skeleton" keeps this thing from flexing much. Gear stays safe when toted around, and that's the point of these bags. It comes with a built in waterproofing "raincoat" that wraps around the entire bag when the weather suddenly changes. Comfortable to wear for several hours. I'm very happy with this bag. Recommended for amateurs and those who like day hikes.
OldRedFox

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 14
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by OldRedFox
Review Date: 12/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $79.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy access, good load capacity, flexible
Cons: One shoulder loads can get heavy

For day trips or knocking around town this badg is hard to beat. It slings over the shoulder (mounting it feels odd the first couple of times) and rotates under the arm to give you quick and easy access to the larger compartment. It easily holds my D50, SB600, 105VR, 18-70 and a half dozen filters in the main compartment. The smaller upper compartment is perfect for stashing other essentials like maps, keys, snacks, etc. This makes it perfect for 3-4 hour hikes, days wandering around, etc. What it doesn't do well is take a full load and let you hike for a day. First, there is no tripod mount and second, the right shoulder carries all the weight. But for its intended purpose - easy access to a moderate kit while walking around - it is the best option on the market.
mtremain

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by mtremain
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $65.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: versatile design, well made, unobtrusive coloration
Cons: somewhat hard on the back, better for the right handed

I bought this to carry a D70, 18-70, 70-300, SB-600 flash, recharger and a pair of binoculars.


Very clever design. I love that you can switch it between your back and your front. Much easier to carry than a traditional over the shoulder bag and much easier to get into than a backpack. The size is about perfect for my modest system of lenses and paraphernalia. I love the 'bonus' compartment at the 'top'. Perfect for adapters and wallets. I also love the AW cover.


The only issues I have had with this bag are probably not ones that would affect all users but might be considerations for some...


It is designed to put all the weight on the right shoulder. I have a back injury and am finding that it is not comfortable to carry this way for any extended period of time or when hiking. You can't shift it to the other shoulder or balance out the weight. You also can't shift the weight to your hips through a waist belt.


It is better designed for right handed people. You pretty much have to lift it over your head to get it on since the harness goes diagonally across your body. (the alternative is to fiddle with buckles and awkwardly swing it around your body) I'd recommend testing it out in the store putting a weight equivalent to your system in it and make sure it is comfortable for you to do this. I classify it as more of a right handed design because it requires more use of the strength of your right arm to get it on and off and to move it from back to front to back.


I managed to accidentally dump my camera body out of it when I picked grabbed it quickly because the top wasn't fully closed. Since the top becomes more of a side opening when you pick it up that makes it a bit more vulnerable. Again, I don't consider it a design fault, you can't complete protect users from their own stupidity. It's just another thing to consider when you think about how you work with your camera. It was an expensive lesson...
AMB

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by AMB
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: well thought design
Cons:

Bought this bag because of it's clever design. I used it on vacation for canon 350d with 17-85mm, 50mm 1.8 and 100-300 tamron lens. I also had some space left for my imagetank and a videocamera, and some citymaps and other papers.


Greatest advantages of the sling design are:
- easy to change lenses
- use the bag to steady your elbows for low-light shots
- when walking in not trustworthy parts of a city i prefer to swing the bag to the front which is still quite comforable.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: small, lightweight, suprisingly roomy, accomodates lens changing
Cons: can't switch sides, hard to use when on a bike or long hike

I used this recently to carry a 20D+battery grip, Canon 17-55IS, Sigma 10-20, Canon 70-200/4, and Canon 550EX and they all fit comfortably (although heavy). Would have been great to be able to switch sides to save my shoulder.


When using it while biking, however, the one-sided design makes it tough to use.
abrahamd

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by abrahamd
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $60.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: comfortable, inconspicuous, quick access
Cons: stuck on one shoulder

This is a great little backpack that looks like a regular old pack, which can be handy if you are in a questionable area . Accessing the main compartment for a lens change takes only a few seconds, all you have to do is undo one snap, flip the bag down in front of you and open it up. I have my D200 w18-70 lens, Tokina 60-300 lens, SB600, and two sets of batteries/charger in the bag with some room left over. The top pouch is big enough for a bit of food (sandwich, couple bars, juicebox) and a GPS unit. The front pouch is good for lens cleaning supplies. I really like the weather cover for this bag for that extra bit of protection. All in all, an affordable and comfortable bag, although I too would like to be able to sling it over the other shoulder instead of being limited to one shoulder, but that's a minor niggle. I have worn it all day hiking with little to no discomfort.
Jarrad_Kevin

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Lowepro SlingShot 200 AW review by Jarrad_Kevin
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $65.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, Very Functional, Holds a lot if you're clever
Cons: Would be better it you could switch sides.

This is a very handy bag if you're the type to switch lenses often. You can fit more than you might expect in this bag if you're clever about your divider placement. I've fit a Canon 20D with Grip, 50 1.4, 85 1.8, 100 Macro and Tamron 17-50 along with a Hyperdrive and 430ex Speedlite just in the main compartment alone. The smaller upper compartment is big enough to fit a couple more speedlites and some batteries or another lens. There are extra little pockets all over the place as well.


The one down side is that you can't change the angle of the sling. It's always on your right shoulder and slides around front on your lower left side. After a full day with heavy equipment your lower back on your left side can get quite fatigued. An option to have a double sided slingshot where one could attach the shoulder strap for the opposite mount would have been very welcome.


Either way it's a very handy and useful bag.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.