SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 12753 1/15/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $62.98
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.60
spacerspacer
9.33
spacerspacer
9.40
1lowepro-slingshot100aw.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW. Perfect for photojournalists, the SlingShot 100 AW uses a unique sling design to go from “carry mode” to “ready mode” in just seconds. Carried comfortably on the back, it easily rotates to the front so you can get to your camera quickly. The SlingShot 100 AW holds an SLR with mid-range zoom lens attached 1–2 extra lenses, cables and accessories and has a full access lid to make loading it a snap. This feature-rich bag also includes a built-in memory card pouch, micro fiber LCD cloth and two generous organizer pockets. It’s certain to surprise even the most demanding photojournalists.



Specifications:

  • Type: Sling Pack, All Weather
  • Available Colors: Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant micro fiber, ripstop nylon and 600D TXP™
  • Type of Closure: Zippers, quick release buckles
  • Capacity: 1 SLR with attached compact zoom lens, 1-2 extra lenses or flash unit
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 19 x 13 x 25 cm / 7.5 x 5.1 x 9.8 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 20.6 x 17 x 40 cm / 11 x 5 x 15 in.
  • Weight: 748 g / 1.65 lb
  • Notes: The ergonomic sling strap evenly distributes equipment weight while in the “carrying position”; The unique design of the SlingShot allows the user to rotate the bag to its “access position”, quickly and easily; While in the “access position” the user can easily get to camera equipment, extra lenses and memory cards while still wearing the bag.; Ergonomic Sling Strap and SlipLock™ Attachment Loops; Built-in Memory Card Pouch and Full Access Lid; All Weather Cover™; SlipLock™ Attachment Loops and Tuck-Away Stablility Strap; Built-in micro fiber LCD cloth protects LCD screen from camera strap, nicks and scratches. Mesh covered back pad & sling strap provides breathable comfort during long treks; Zip-Stop Buckles and Silent Zipper Pulls

Keywords: Lowepro Sling-Pack AW


gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, lightweight, easy access
Cons: users of pro-size DSLRs and lenses will have ot get the bigger models

Perfect for small DSLRs and a couple of mid-size lenses, but if you have a full-size one or use a vertical grip, you might find this a tight fit.
amolas

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW review by amolas
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: size, ease of use
Cons: none

My favourite backpack. I can store my 350d with grip with the 70-200 f4L mounted, my 17-40 f4 L, a flash and other things !


Very light, well built !


If you are looking on a medium sized backpack, with a total ease of use, this is for you !
edhoel

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW review by edhoel
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $59.95| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed and ease of use
Cons: None

I carried this bag for three weeks in Europe with a Canon XT with the Tamron 18-200 and all accessories and would not even consider trading it. My $200 Tenba bag has been retired after years of faithful service.
freundez

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 9
Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW review by freundez
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $59.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great features & build quality
Cons: Not for larger zooms or tele's

I bought this bag as an alternative to top loading or shoulder bags because I wanted something that would allow faster access to my camera and be more comfortable for hiking and walking around. For this purpose, the bag has performed well. I find the bag to be very comfortable to use, and with a little practice, a quicker way to grab my camera for a shot.


I'm able to carry my Nikon D70s w/ 18-70 lens (hood attached) along with my Tokina 100mm macro and either my 70-300 zoom or two primes (10.5mm, 35mm f/2, or 50 f/1.4), along with my SB-600 flash gun, additional memory cards, circular polorizer filter, and spare flash and camera batteries without a problem.


The all weather cover works (tested in a snow storm), and I've taken the bag skiing a few times w/o issue (though a dedicated backpack would work better for this application). The bag definitely is too small for larger pro SLR's, as well as larger constant aperature zooms like the 80-200 or 70-200 f/ 2.8. Additionally, for lenses like the Nikon 12-24 f/4 to Tokina 12-24 f/4 you'll need to remove the lens hood if the lens is attached to the camera body, which can be a pain.
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LoePro Standards, Excellent for travell, Very fast and easy access to equipment.
Cons: Not for tele zooms (70-200L e.t.c)

Perfect combination for travel and long way trip by foot. Accessing your camera is piece of cake and has lot of place for second lens, flash, filters, battery...e.t.c.


If you have tele zooms, you better look at Sling Shot 200, with far better compartment.


Highly Recommended, for wide and mid zooms.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.