SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
10 219911 9/23/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
90% of reviewers $296.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
8.90
nikon24f28a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm Tested


vitalishe

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 2
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by vitalishe
Review Date: 9/23/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: cheap wide angle for FX, fast (for the money), very small, solid build
Cons: does not come with a hood, overlaps the standard 14-24 and 24-70 zoom ranges

I recently bought a used earlier version (non D) of this lens for my newly acquired D700 and I am very happy with it.


I wanted a cheap fast wide angle lens for FX to take pictures of the stars and the Milky Way to utilize the superior low-light performance of full frame. Until I saw this lens for sale I was considering Tokina 16-28 f/2.8. The later goes for around $700 and long-term is a much more flexible and better lens (and much heavier too).


I have both DX and FX cameras which I use side-by-side:
- On FX I have a vintage 35-70 f/2.8D, which is a very good cheap (~$450) alternative to its modern counterpart 24-70 f/2.8 (~$1,500).
- On DX I have a proper ultra-wide angle 12-24 Tokina f/4.


So, I "needed" a lens mostly for one application. This lens was a perfect solution:
- Fast at 2.8 and cheap ~$200.
- Solidly built.
- Extremely small (compared to other UW zoom lenses) non-intimidating. It is about the size of 35mm and 50mm f/1.8 lenses. There is something very satisfying about having a very small lens on the camera.
- Sufficiently sharp.
- Focuses fast without focus-hunting, has a hard infinity stop.

The reasons you may want this lens:
- It's a cheap good quality solution for the range and aperture.
- It is very small and relatively light.
- Perfect complement to the 35-70 f/2.8 lens.


The reason you may NOT want this lens:
- Once you sacrifice your limbs to get either of the dream 14-24 or 24-70 lenses (unless weight is an issue) this lens will become obsolete.
Tidalflow

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by Tidalflow
Review Date: 2/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Bought a mint second-hand lens for 200GBP (Dec 2012) for a D7000. Initially was very disappointed as the lens seemed soft. However when the fine focus lens setting were optimised for the D7000 the performance improved dramatically. (guess this was the reason it was sold in the first place). As a compact combination fitted to the D7000 it's certainly an excellent modest wide angle. When I couple this with my 50mm and 85mm I can cover the useful range 35-135mm FX format.
rcoder

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by rcoder
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: compact, good view angle on a digital body, perfect "street" lens
Cons: prone to flare, f/2.8 aperture not as fast as many other primes

I bought this lens used a few weeks ago specifically for street photography, and have been pretty happy with the results. On a cropped digital body like by D70, the 24mm focal length is only mildly "wide", works well for candid and from-the-hip shots.


AF performance is quite respectable, and and MF ring feels very smooth, with just enough resistance to make it unlikely you'll accidentally bump it out of focus. Bokeh is also quite nice when wide open, giving lovely, circular out-of-focus highlights.


Since there wasn't a hood included with this used gear, though, I have had some problems with flaring when shooting into the sun. I haven't examined many of the shots at extreme detail to evaluate CA or vignetting, but I can't recall any real "stinkers."


Overall, I'd say I got what I wanted: an affordable, compact street lens with good handling and decent performance. I'm hoping to replace it for most uses with the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 fairly soon, but I suspect I'll keep it around as it's the most compact and lightweight lens I own.
wishbone

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by wishbone
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Small, sturdy, good walk around lens
Cons: Not very sharp on a digital, slight distortion

When I had my F100, I wanted a true wide angle lens that goes beyond my 28-70. This little thing worked well on my film camera, but items on the side borders will be distorted, especially if you shoot people up close. This is truly more suited for landscape.


I was very disappointed to see its performance on my D200 and D70. The image quality seems to suffer from softness, and I have not been able to get many good shots . While this is a light and small lens, it is inflexible on a digital because the 17-70 kit lens arguably performs better and is much wider. I am planning to sell my 24mm soon to fund another lens. I also have a Tokina 12-24 f4 and it is much better!
anabasis

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by anabasis
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, well constructed, good IQ
Cons: heavy for size, some CA on digital

The Nikkor 24mm F2.8 is an autofocus prime that offers sharp images in a compact, and reasonably fast lens. The 24mm is a good landscape and street lens. It is slightly larger and heavier then the 50mm f1.8 lens, but keeps the 52mm filters. The lens is a screwdriver lens that focuses with good speed and minimal noise on the professional line camera, and a bit slower on the consumer bodies. The lens has DOF preview lines from F11 to F22 on the window which is rather disappointing. I miss the older Nikkors with a much more complete DOF scale on the lens. The MF dial is large enough for easy manual focusing, and there is an aperture ring for use on older bodies.
The lens offers good wide angle performance on film bodies, and acts like a 35mm lens on the digital bodies. This makes it a good “walk around lens” on digital bodies, and a good medium wide angle on film bodies. The images are sharp, contrasty and with minimal distortion. This lens can also be mounted in reverse on a bellows unit for approximately 9:1 magnification with good results.
This lens is a favorite of mine for walk-arounds with my DSLRs. I like the 35mm angle of view that seems to be more useful then the 50mm focal length. Although 2 stops slower then my 50mm, the speed of the lens is more then adequate for most applications.
usul3084

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by usul3084
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optics, build, handling, size, metal hood.
Cons: CA on digital.

A very sharp lens for wide landscapes on 35mm. On my film body I have no complaints and love this little lens.
Build quality is good enough, and the metal lens hood does a good job protecting the front element. In my real world shooting, I haven't noticed distortion, though in the lab you may see it.
The one drawback is that this lens loses its wide feel on an APS-C digital body due to the crop. Chromatic Aberration is also noticeable in the corners on high-contrast subjects with digital.


Highly Recommended for 35mm film work.
Recommended for Nikon digital.
bullfr

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by bullfr
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: optics and build quality, sharpness, wide angle on argentic
Cons: not a wide angle for digital

In the pre-digital days, this lens was my favorite on the F801 body; I love the wide angle field of view for landscapes and travel pictures. This lens was a perfect companion for many years, and has proved extremly reliable under any circunstances. Optics are very good, providing very sharp images (really goood even on the sides), and the build quality is Nikon's...
I was a bit disappointed at first when reading about the 1.6 crop factor for digital SLRs; but this lens is now equivalent to a 35mm, which makes it perfect for street photography and every day snapshots; additionally it is not as impressive and intimidating as bigger zooms for peoples photography. However, you may have to add a replacement lens if you want a wide angle...
TeoK

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by TeoK
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: small , light, easy to use, superb optical quality
Cons: none

Probably the best lens I have ever used. Super sharp, with quite acceptable nominal distortions of a wide angle lens.
This lens however, like many other great Nikkors was designed with film cameras in mind, so it may not work optimally on digital cameras. The digital sensor relies on the light path to hit it at 90 degrees angle which is not an issue with film, so ( and this especially true with wide angles) you may experience light fall off at the corners.
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excelent center resolution. Good construction.
Cons: Soft corners.Distortion. CAs.

Resolution is very good to excelent in center, but only good in corners. With med- high barrel distortion, high vignetting (at f/2.8) and pronounced CAs. the AF 24mm f/2.8D is not a bad lens, but as a fix-focal I expected a better performance.
afs

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by afs
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Small, and at a great price, excellent FOV.
Cons: Plastic build (not bad considering price), heavy despite its size, not as versatile as a zoom.

Well, I had this lens for a while, and I intend to get one again soon, because of its quality.
This is a small lens and can be used on any Nikon made. It provides great optical performance at a reasonable price. I picked mine up for $200, and I used it in place of an 18-70 zoom on my D70. It is more solidly built and has a nice heft to it, despite its small size.
This lens offers a great focal length, particularly on digital. The sharpness the lens offers is also excellent. At f/2.8 it grabs a huge amount of detail. at f/4 it improves even more. The only con is that in the sharpness department, the 17-35mm f/2.8D AF-S ED-IF zoom beats it once stopped down past f/4 or so....but it does that to every prime in its range and costs $1400.
The 24mm f/2.8D is an excellent lens for people pictures, candids, basically anything. It is one SHARP lens. It is far less obtrusive than my 17-35 AF-S, too. It has my preferred rubber focusing ring with internal distance scale.
I loved it, only sold it because I needed the 17-35 more, and I want it back for those times when having a lens that's bigger than the camera isn't preferable.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.