SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 10947 7/14/2008
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $52.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.60
spacerspacer
8.75
1lowepro-nova2aw.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro Nova 2 AW. A small, light bag — loves to travel. The Nova 2 AW has a great look, hi-tech materials, and our famous All Weather Cover™ to protect gear from the elements – even dust and torrential rain. Includes a customizable interior; OverLap Zipper™; NoDrop Pocket™ for film and filter changes; many inner and outer pockets; a curved, pressed-foam shoulder strap; belt loops; and padded handle.



Specifications:

  • Type: Shoulder Bag, All Weather
  • Available Colors: Black, Forest Green/Black, Gray/Black, Navy Blue/Black, Red/Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant 600D TXP™ and 600D TXP™ ripstop
  • Type of Closure: Zipper, quick release buckle
  • Capacity: 1 SLR with attached lens, 2-3 more lenses and accessories
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 21.5 x 11 x 19.5 cm / 8.5 x 4.25 x 7.75 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 23.6 x 18.5 x 23.9 cm / 9.3 x 7.3 x 9.4 in.
  • Weight: 703 g / 1.55 lb
  • Notes: The All Weather Cover™ provides protection in extreme conditions; External mesh pockets hold accessories or a notepad

Keywords: Lowepro Shoulder-Bag AW


tachyon1701

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by tachyon1701
Review Date: 7/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $50.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, attention to detail, toughness
Cons: Styling (blah, like most camera bags), plastic shoulder belt hooks

I use this bag with my Pentax K200D with an attached Sigma 24-60mm f/2.8 standard zoom (which has a big 77mm filter size). I also fit a Pentax 75-300mm FAJ telephoto zoom and a Pentax 10-17mm DA fisheye. Everything fits snuggly but comfortably.


I have the all black one and I like it's discrete looks. That being said, camera bags like these are function over form. Aside from the "blah" styling, i find this bag very useful and great on vacations. Not too big to be hard to lug around and not to small that you can't fit any additional lenses in there.


I didn't like the fact that the hooks thats attach the shoulder belt to the bag is made of plastic instead of metal. My experiences with shoulder bags with plastic parts is that they break over time. But the ones on Lowepro do look extra solid, only time will tell.
amk

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by amk
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $43.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Pretty inexpensive
Cons: Doesn't hold as much as they say it does

I agree with the previous post. I was, however, able to fit one lens in addition to the body and lens attached. I sent this back after only a few days of use.
crmorse

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 11
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by crmorse
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $35.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, Lowepro quality
Cons: Too small

I had this bag only briefly. Don't believe the marketing materials about it's capacity.


I found that I could not fit anything else in the bag with my Canon Digital Rebel with 18-55mm kit lens. It's really an either/or situation. One camera with attached lens or body plus 2 lenses. Not both.


That said, the size was otherwise great and if you have a smaller camera or smaller lenses it would probably work great. The quality was up to Lowepro's usual standards which is to say very good. If I was using a P&S or smaller SLR I wouldn't hesitate.
KonicaKid

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by KonicaKid
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $30.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good construction, lots of pockets, nicely padded.
Cons: Inconvenient for cycling.

I have the original Nova 2 bag, purchased 3 years ago, before the AW model was available. I found it ideal for carrying my Olympus 740UZ (large point and shoot), plus table top tripod, cables, blower brush, batteries, memory cards and a small version of the manual. There are lots of pockets to protect and separate the various items I've put in the bag.


I've taken the bag on walks, cycling, thrown it in the car and on planes. I find it convenient for most uses, though it's a bit of a hassle for cycling, where a backpack would have been more appropriate.


I'd recommend this bag for the casual/enthusiast user.


I'm shopping for a digital SLR and will probably use this bag for the SLR, until I get additional lenses then I'll get a Lowepro knapsack.
aalto

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by aalto
Review Date: 12/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good size, both inside and out, extremely well designed, AWC
Cons: Unremovable padding, no slip-lock

This is the first bag I ever bought, and ive tried a lot of bags since. And ive sold all of them, but this one is still with me, and in regular use.


Theres always a time when your bag is either too small or too big. Well heres the answer for half of the cases. The bag is slender enough not to snag in crowds, but still holds enough gear for most uses. Even if you pack it full with gear, you can still walk around with it for hours without the feeling that your shoulders been dislocated (as with som bigger bags). It holds at reasonable sized tele with either the camera og the hood on, a flash, a normal range zoom lens and a small prime. As an addition, the front pocket is just big enough to hold a sb800 and a sc28 cord. The pens and mobiles go in the meshpockets on the sides and are fast to get to, filters and such go on the inside of the lid. Money, caps, etc go in the lid pocket, small reflectors, notepads, etc go in the backpocket.


One great thing on this bag is the All weather cover, which can be put on without removing the shoulderstrap.


There are a couple of minuses though, one being that the padding is a part of the bag, and not removable. This usualle gives some more frreedom to separate small accesories from one another, and the other being that there is no sliplock attachment loops, in case you are not going to walk around alot but need an extra flash with you.


If you buy this bag, you are going to wear it out, but since its a lowepro, that will take a lot of years.
xavier

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by xavier
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good storage, All-Weather protection, not too bulky.
Cons: a little inconvenient to carry together with a backpack.

I bought this bag in order to carry my equipment during trips, hikes and trekkings.


I usually carry in this bag my Canon 10D + 17-40 (with hood on), plus some accessories, like a tabletop tripod,, a 77mm circular polarizing filter and a flash in the main compartment, while the front pocket holds a bunch of memory cards and batteries. When needed, I can fit in the main compartment a 70-200/2.8, but then the flash stays home and hoods will not fit: this is actually quite impressive, given the very reasonable size of the bag.


The second main advantage of this bag is the well-known All-Weather Lowepro construction, which I love. No Concern walking under heavy rain, since the rain cover protects the bag quite well (except the back prt of it, which should still not be exposed to too much water.


The only issue I can think of is that I find this bag not very comfortable to carry with a backpack. When I go on trekkings (usually one or two weeks in a row), it turns out to be quite frustrating in the end, but I have not found a better solution so far. In the other hand, this bag allows you to have your camera ready on your side (much more convenient than unloading a backpack), so I still think a shoulder bag is better of this application; I just wish the straps would not end up being messed up.
OldRedFox

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 14
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by OldRedFox
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Carries a D50, 18-70, SB600 and a guidebook
Cons: Not a sling

Well built with good protection. Easy to re-arrange the loading section. Perfect size for family trips with one/two lenses and a flash.
maxx

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 6
Lowepro Nova 2 AW review by maxx
Review Date: 4/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I use this bag for my D70s along with a mounted 24-120mm lens, a 70-300mm lens, a 50mm lens and a flash. It'a a great bag for when you don't want to lug a lot of gear, but need a few lenses and a flash. It's water resistant as well.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.