SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 15870 11/28/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $95.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
8.67
1lowepro-minitrkraw.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro Mini Trekker AW. Our ever-popular Mini Trekker — now with an All Weather Cover™ — is lightweight, compact and holds a surprising amount of gear. Includes an integrated quick-release tripod holder, attachment loops for optional SlipLock™ accessories, compression straps and lots of pockets — including a large front pocket with a weather flap and a quick-access front pocket. The ergonomic harness features wide, padded shoulder straps and a sternum strap. The backpack harness system has excellent lumbar support, wide shoulder straps and a DryFlo™ mesh lining to keep you cool.



Specifications:

  • Type: Backpack, All Weather
  • Available Colors: Black, Forest Green/Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant 600D TXP™ and 600D ripstop nylon
  • Type of Closure: Zipper, quick release buckles
  • Capacity: SLR with attached 80–200mm f/2.8 lens (most makes), additional body, 4–6 more lenses
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 28 x 12.5 x 37 cm / 11 x 5 x 14.5 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 30.5 x 32 x 40.5 cm / 12 x 12.5 x 16 in.
  • Weight: 1.3 kg / 2.8 lb
  • Notes: Compression straps keep SlipLock™ add-ons snug and secure; The Tripod Mount is upright for optimum balance; The backpack harness system has excellent lumbar support, wide shoulder straps and a DryFlo™ mesh lining to keep you cool

Keywords: Lowepro Backpack AW


roy

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 2
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by roy
Review Date: 11/28/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: capacity, size
Cons: bad harness

Mine is not an "AW" but having owned it for >10 years I feel a review is appropriate. I bought it originally to use with an SLR system (FM2n and AIS lenses) I was 10 years younger then and what seemed like a heavy system (3 or 4 lenses from 20 - 200mm) no longer does.
This bag comes close to perfection BUT and it's a big BUT, the harness is awful, as someone else notes. The bag swallows an awful lot of gear (D700, D200, 24-70, 70-200, 14-24, flash etc) with a tripod hanging off it. at over 60 this lot is too much to carry far anyway but the thin straps, in particular the unpadded waist strap, are appallingly inadequate. It has a chest strap too so the overall intention is fine. The execution is inadequate. A pity as apart from this limitation it's by far the best camera backpack I've owned.
I once carried it (with my film system) for about 4 hours of torrential rain without any serious water incursion - and remember it's not the AW version. One zip on the outer compartment has failed due to overstuffing but otherwise about 11 years of use and it's still usable if lightly loaded. With a few mods this would be an unbeatable product. Lowepro, why not sort it out?
the_camera_poser

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 2
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by the_camera_poser
Review Date: 12/31/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Roomy, rain fly
Cons: Thin straps, uncomfortable, the extra pouch area on the outside should be bigger, rainfly causing bulging in main compartment

We have had this bag for a little over a year, and it has been used extensively. I have been rather disappointed with it. The padding within the outer walls has lost shape and buckled considerably, the velcro is starting to get lots of strings and wear on it, and when stored the weather shield causes the inside bottom of the pack to bulge into the main compartment. The storage area on the back of hte bag is too small to be really useful for a jacket or even an extra shirt, though I can fit a 1/2 sized towel in there for keeping gear dry. The tripod carrying system doesn't work well for my tripod, which is too short to take advantage of the upper tie-off point, and therefore slaps all over the place when I walk with it. The waist strap is completely unpadded, and really just extra weight, as it is too uncomfortable to be useful. You can't use the buckling side-restraints that give a second layer of protection to the main compartment, backing up the zipper, easily with slip-lock pouches installed.


My biggest gripe is that when I put all out stuff in it (350D, 30D, 100-400, 24-105, Kit lens, 50/1.8) it is terribly uncomfortable. The bag is clearly designed for carrying a lot of weight, and I could cram way more gear into it than I do, but the straps are really thin and unpadded, and are very uncomfortable. I am used to carrying 20-30 kilos when hiking, but find any more than short distance walking with the fully loaded mini-trekker to be unpleasant.


Really, a better set of shoulder straps anda bit of plastic re-enforcing around the main compartment would have made a huge difference in this pack. All my other complaints could be live with.
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by trentdp
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect size, light weight, good compartment configuration
Cons: None

Like you, I was at my local camera store looking at all the various offerings wondering what to buy. Fortunately, a professional photographer was in the store on that day and he shared his experiences with me to my advantage. He pointed out all the advantages of the available products and then recommended this product. I then personally looked at each product at the store and agreed that this one best fits my need base on the use of my equipment. It is light and sturdy and best of all has provisions for carrying my Gitzo G1257 tripod attached to it. This was one of my main concerns being able to attach the tripod to the case during long treks in the outdoors. I highly recommend this quality piece of goods for the average consumer such as me. I paid about $140 at my local camera shop for this backpack.
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by mebailey
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This is an excellent backpack. It carries enough stuff for an intermediate photographer can carry enough gear for a good long trip. It is well padded and solidly stitched. I have used it for nearly a year without visible wear. Highly recommended!
crmorse

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 11
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by crmorse
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Versatil, good construction, all-weather
Cons: lack of airflow when worn

I've had this bag for 2 years and love it. All of my equipment lives in it. I have a smaller bag that I take for short trips but "home" is this bag.


Pluses:
* The AW system is nice, easy, and convenient. Well worth the extra price and more reliable than an add-on system like a bag.


* Endless configurations and places to put stuff. More often my problem is finding where I put it.


* More spacious than it's size would make it appear. I've been able to store 2 digital backs plus 3 lenses, 2 battery chargers (plus the matching batteries), filters, CF cards, Laptop, laptop charger, laptop cables, notebooks, and more all at the same time.


* Great bag to use for carryon if traveling by air (assuming all your gear fits) since the backpack nature makes it easy to carry.


* Build contruction is very good but not perfect. I've found the occasional seam that is weak but nothing to complain about. On average better than most mass produced stuff.


* Very functional and usable tripod sling. A bonus is if your tripod is lighter and short you can leave the sling folded up and just slide the tripdo into the front pocket. That way the bag will still sit up on end with tripod attached.


Minuses:
* The tripod sling works well but you can't set the bag down standing up with tripod attached which means that the bag will either lay on the front face (getting the front & tripod dirty assuming outdoors) or on it's back (getting the back dirty which you then have to put back on). Also, the elastic straps work ok but do let the tripod move around more than it should. Nylon would have been better.


* When hiking with the pack your back will get very very hot. There is zero airflow and all that padding for your equipment acts as an insulator. It's like wearing a ski parka on your back. I don't know what could be done about it without adding weight and size with a frame.


Unknown:
I've not used the attachment straps but they seem VERY study with strong velcro that is double attached. I don't expect to have any problems and plan to carry Canon L lenses on them on my next trip.
ddesimoni

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW review by ddesimoni
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: storm cover, versatility, waist strap
Cons: none

I have had this bag for over 1 year, Currently it holds my 30D connected to my canon 70-200 2.8 L , plus a canon 400 5.6L, Tamron 2.8 28-75, Canon 580ex with strobobounce, 1.4x canon extender, batteries, memory cards, and what ever else I decide to throw in the front pocket.


right now it's weight about 20 pounds and I don't think twice about throwing over my back and taking it with me on a hike.


the extra straps to secure the cover to reenforce the zippers gives excellent peace of mind along with the rain guard that is at the bottom of the bag is great to have if I ever get stuck in a bad situation.


I would imagine lowepro builds all their bags with the same forethought and would never think twice if I needed a different size bag, and deciding who's brand to purchase


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.