SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 11922 7/13/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $80.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.33
No ratings
spacerspacer
7.67
1lowepro-microtrkr200.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro Micro Trekker 200. This backpack has a large front pocket with organizer, expandable side pockets, laminated mesh pockets, shoulder straps, sternum strap, a removable waistbelt and attachment loops for SlipLock™ add-ons. Removable bottom straps take a small tripod or a windbreaker.



Specifications:

  • Type: Backpack
  • Available Colors: Black, Forest Green/Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant 600D TXP™ and 600D ripstop
  • Type of Closure: Zipper, quick release buckles
  • Capacity: SLR with attached 80–200mm f/2.8 lens (most makes) plus 3 more lenses or an additional body or a flash
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 26.5 x 12.5 x 32 cm / 10.5 x 5 x 12.5 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 28 x 21.5 x 35.5 cm / 11 x 8.5 x 14 in.
  • Weight: 1.04 kg / 2.3 lb
  • Notes: Large outer pocket; Removable bottom straps take a small tripod or a windbreaker

Keywords: Lowepro Backpack


aharen32

Registered: July 2010
Posts: 1
Lowepro Micro Trekker 200 review by aharen32
Review Date: 7/13/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Small, Efficient, Lightweight, Maneuverable
Cons: Feels "small" on your back

This is a great little bag for plane travel and day hikes. Have taken mine all from US to Europe to Asia and the Caribbean. Fits my D300, SB-600, 16-85mm, 70-300mm and 50mm. Does very well in light weather without waterproofing, anything heavier it is small enough to fit under my rain jacket. Great for plane travel because you can stuff a ton into it, chargers, cables, netbook, magazine, snacks, mp3. You would be suprised how "big" this backpack is. The only downside is that the main compartment is lacking a secondary security clip. Had one minor "incident" with the zippers loosening on their own. I highly recommend this bag and the LowePro company.
ckhorne

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Lowepro Micro Trekker 200 review by ckhorne
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $60.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, yet still versatile
Cons:

I picked up this bag for short day hikes to carry my XTi and 2-3 lenses. I purposely wanted a smaller bag so I wouldn't be forced to load up a larger pack with unessential gear; this bag is a perfect fit for that criteria.


It's a little small on my back, but I'm 5' 9", and I didn't have to adjust it too much.


You can't get two bodies w/lenses in it comfortably, but two bodies and only one with a lens attached does fit well. The front pocket is big enough to allow for small books, trail food, or other small items - it *is* usable.


Overall, I'd highly recommend this pack, but only if you want a smaller pack and not carry "the kitchen sink."
aryko

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 9
Lowepro Micro Trekker 200 review by aryko
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent size and weight
Cons: Easily outgrown by growing lens collections

Lowepro has always excelled in the modularity of their systems, and the Microtrekker is no exception. The entire compartment of this daypack (and most of their packs, for that matter) can be removed and reconfigured with their velcro attachments. Accordingly, you can easily fit a camera body and several lenses and flashes. There are also several exterior pockets for smaller items.


The only obvious con against this pack is that if you want to change lenses, you have to take off the whole pack. Also, given there is no waist belt, it can be hard on the shoulders with a heavy weight.


A testament to the bag's construction, though: after a half an hour of some of the most intense rain I'd ever seen, the contents of the bag were completely dry. Makes one wonder if you need to by a Dryzone bag after all.
ronen_we

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Lowepro Micro Trekker 200 review by ronen_we
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: extremly spacious for size
Cons: weight not spread evenly over back

This is a really small back pack, but you can really cram your equipment into it, it will swaller up a large SLR body with a 80-200/2.8 and still leave room for a flash ~3 more lenses.


stiched togther very well, thick material offers some rain protection (keep your equipment safe through a shot light shower, though don;t build on it if its raining cats and dogs outside).


Personally found the bag a bit uncomftrobale due to small size, weight spread over small portion of back meant my back gave up fairly quickly (with stuff you can fit into it can be quite weighty).


try putting some weight in it when you try it in the shop, if it its comtroable for you get it.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.