SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 60929 11/10/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $162.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.57
spacerspacer
8.14
spacerspacer
8.57
1nikon28f28a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm


lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by lightknight
Review Date: 11/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $280.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, light, very sharp centre resolution
Cons: some distortion, not particularly robust

This lens is a bit of a sleeper as its quite cheap but does give quite good image quality once past F4.


I recently decided to go with primes for all lenses under 100 mm - why carry around a 24-70 that weighs 1.4 kilos when I can get a 50mm, a 28 and a 20 that weigh just about 0.6 kilos between them and still take less room in my bag...and I normally have my 85 1.8 so everything is covered. Somehow there is this ray of clarity that primes provide: it may not show up in tests but I do believe its there. Problems: well I am looking at getting a 35 F2 now as I fell over while crossing a stream when out in the wild and the lens took a not particularly hard knock that rendered it "beyond economic repair" (or what call the "i cant be bothered") syndrome.


see here for a sample of what its capable of -1/80 @F11 , Nikon D700
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/4096313716/sizes/o/
sgnirts

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by sgnirts
Review Date: 2/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $155.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fairly wide, smooth focus, reasonably sharp, bright and fast at f2.8, great color and contrast. Very light
Cons: Not "extra tack sharp", a little distortion...get over it!

A simple classic. This lens is easy to carry, performs in low light, classic handling. Primes always bring out creativity because you are not overwhelmed with options and over thinking, sure, some zooms match this lenses performance today, but who cares? You simply pop this lens on your camera, and the charm of it's limits guide you to nice photos.


Forget the "bashers"....Just put it in your bag and use it, you will be happy!
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 12/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $85.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: redition in FF, light and well built
Cons: definition in DX, alwais less than 17-35

This lens haven't any cons in FF. I havent'seen any flare, and from f4 the D700's 12Mp are completely resolved.
Only the falloff is visible until f5.6, but nothing unexpected.


On D2x, instead, the definition is never enough, and is visible a little CA.
tommy

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by tommy
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: small, light, sharp, fast
Cons: bad chromatic aberration

Small, light, fast, sharp... but I've been really disappointed with the chromatic aberration (colour fringing) on this lens in high-contrast areas of images. Fringing around trees against bright skies have been bad enough to cause a stock library to to reject several otherwise good images taken with this lens. My 24-85mm af-s seems to be just as sharp, and much better behaved when it comes to chromatic aberration, so my 28mm hasn't had a great deal of use.


Not quite sure how this one slipped through Nikon's quality control...
Turk182

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by Turk182
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $131.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: This is a very nice compact lens to carry. Fast to auto focus
Cons: Little on the plastic feel.

I purchased this lens used on e-bay, the lens sold new for around $351.00, but can be purchased used between $115.00 to $150.00 U.S. dollars. It is small, and light weight and is a good walk around lens. Since I purchased a AF-S 17-35mm f2.8 zoom, I haven't use this lens as much as I used to. But it does produce very good photo's when used.
TeoK

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by TeoK
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Great lens. tiny, fast and super easy to use. Great color rendition. On film cameras produces very natural perspective. On digital bodies it becomes 42mm lens - should be very pleasing.
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Resolution is very good ( excelent at F:5,6)in center, but only good in corners. With med- high barrel distortion, high vignetting (at f/2.8) and pronounced CAs. the AF 28mm f/2.8D is not a bad lens, but as a fix-focal I expected a better performance.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.