SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 18527 9/24/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $87.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.00
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
7.33
1lowepro-compudaypack.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro CompuDaypack. Perfect for around campus or around town, the CompuDaypack is a lightweight yet spacious backpack. Its triple compartment design neatly manages the key components of digital photography with a rear compartment for a notebook computer (fits most 17" models) and files, and a lower compartment that accommodates a digital SLR with lens attached (up to a 105mm f/2.8), plus 2-3 additional lenses or flash units. The upper compartment holds personal accessories and cables. Tuck an MP3 player into the quick access front pocket, thread the headphones through the unique headphone port and listen to your favorite music even on the go.



Specifications:

  • Type: Backpack
  • Available Colors: Burnt Orange/Black, Leaf Green/Black, Slate Gray/Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant 840D and 600D ripstop
  • Type of Closure: Zipper, quick release buckle
  • Capacity: 1 pro SLR, 3-4 lenses (up to a 105mm f/2.8), flash, laptop, and MP3 player & audio player accessories
  • Interior Dimensions of Top Compartment (W x D x H): 32 x 14 x 29 cm / 12.6 x 5.5 x 11.4 in.
  • Interior Dimensions of Bottom Compartment (W x D x H): 29 x 13.5 x 14 cm / 11.4 x 5.3 x 5.5 in.
  • Interior Dimensions of Notebook Compartment (W x D x H): 31 x 4.5 x 40.5 cm / 12.2 x 1.8 x 15.9 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): 35 x 21.5 x 44.5 cm / 13.8 x 8.5 x 17.5 in.
  • Weight: 1.37 kg / 3 lb
  • Notes: Headphone Port; Audio Player Pocket; Quick Access Side Pockets; Padded Notebook Computer Compartment; Padded Carrying Handle; Organizer Pockets; See-though Pockets; Contoured Shoulder Harness with DryFlo; Large Accessory Pocket; Silent Zipper Pulls; Padded Camera Compartment; NoDrop Gusset; Adjustable Padded Dividers; Channel Ventilated Back Pad; SlipLock Attachment Loops

Keywords: Lowepro Backpack Laptop


tclune

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 6
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by tclune
Review Date: 9/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: well-padded, holds wha I need to carry
Cons: a bit cramped in the camera compartment

I got this because I fly with a dSLR (Nikon D5000)and a laptop (MacBook Pro). I saw a very good deal on a new one of these through Amazon Marketplace, and so I pounced on it. It will carry my camera with the 35mm f/1.8 lens attached, but any larger dSLR or lens wouldn't fit. My Tokina 12-24mm lens just barely fits lengthwise by itself, and my Nikon 55-200mm lens is also a tight fit in the camera compartment. In addition, there is room for extension tubes and filters n the camera section. There are velcro dividers that allow you to reconfigure the subspace in the three lens/camera sections. If I had a longer lens or larger camera, things just wouldn't fit. But, for what I have, it is perfectly adequate and offers good protection for my equipment. I don't travel with a tripod, which the bag is not designed to hold.


The carrying handle is well-padded and comfortable. The straps are less comfortable on me than on some of the people who reviewed it here, but they are OK -- I don't use it for going on long hikes in the woods, so I'm more concerned about getting all my stuff in than in being comfortable while wearing the pack.


The upper section is handy space for general-purpose travel gear. If I could change one thing in the design, though, I would make the lower camera section larger at the expense of the upper section.


For the price, the backpack is excellent. The main thing to watch out for if you are using it as a travel bag is to be sure that it will actually fit your camera gear. If you're planning on using it to hike on a day trip, you may find that it just isn't very comfortable for extended wear. Barring those issues, the backpack is well worth having.
r3g

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 2
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by r3g
Review Date: 4/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Comfortable, Affordable, Lots of space, Durable
Cons: Camera compartment can be hard to open and close when bag is full

I got this bag becuase I ride a motorcycle as my main mode of transport and wanted a bag I could ride comfortably with. It does the job perfectly in this respect. The back portion of the bag is soft and even though the bag seems to stick out pretty far I dont find that it weighs down on my back even when riding.



It hold a great deal of gear. I fit my camera, 3 lenses, 4 flashes (and triggers), 2 stands, 1 tripod, and 4 umbrellas in it on a regular bases. Of course with the stands in it it doesnt zip all the way but the zipper was made quite well and doesnt creepy down as it bumps around during a ride. I love this bag but I'm going to need something more spacious soon.
tdotduffman

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 10
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by tdotduffman
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Space for other necessities besides camera gear; comfortable when heavy
Cons: Elastic pockets are a little tight

I tried storing some lenses in this pack at the store before buying it, having a telezoom in mind for future purchase. A canon 350D with 70-200 f/4 did fit in the upper, non-segmented compartment, and there was clearly space for the f/2.8 variant. Moreover, the padded cells below can be shuffled to accommodate a telephoto lens, though probably without the body attached.


The computer compartment is well padded and isolated from both inside and outside impact.


I was worried about the lack of shoulder strap adjustment, but I found this pack to be remarkably comfortable while storing a laptop, lens and flash collection, and body in small case inside. Moreover, the pack stands up on its own.


About the elastic pockets: I'm not sure what one could fit in them besides memory cards, business cards or instruction manuals. However, the upper pockets are just fine for film or batteries.
awalker

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by awalker
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $105.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Comfortable, ideal capacity for daily use
Cons: None

I use this every day - I take it to the office, and the top compartment is perfect for PC and work stuff. I carry my 20D with me each day too - in the lower compartment. OK, so I only use the camera once a week or less - but it's a great way to make sure that it's always with me whenever I do want to take a picture.
colourperfect_co_uk

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 18
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by colourperfect_co_uk
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: compact and well made
Cons: awkward access to camera section

Bought mine to travel with laptop and camera and carry on to plane. Luggage size restrictions in the UK ended that !


It is well made but the camrea section is a little awkward to access and cant take longer zooms.


Could also do with a few more externally accessable pockets etc.


PS Don't like the lime green coloured one, go for red !


colourperfect
OldRedFox

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 14
Lowepro CompuDaypack review by OldRedFox
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $60.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Holds a 15.4 laptop, various computing things, DSLR and 2 lenses
Cons: Not rugged enough for treking - but that's not the target either

Solid bag for daily use when you need to carry a laptop (Lowepro says it can handle a 17" model but my 15.4" Dell fits perfectly) a bunch of work/school stuff and a body plus a couple of lenses and a flash. As for the lenses, don't plan on a 70-200, but shorter tele and/or a walkabout lens fits nicely. Only real drawback is that to get to the camera you unzip the front of the back and tip the main part of the pack backwards. This takes two hands and setting it down on a solid surface. That aside, well done and perfect for daily use.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.