SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 76265 5/14/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,581.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.88
sony135f18cz.jpg


Keywords: Sony Carl-Zeiss Tele Prime A-Mount 35mm Tested


timtomgo

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 3
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by timtomgo
Review Date: 5/14/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quite quick, accurate, amazing built, pictures out of this world, sharp, creammy fat bokeh
Cons: heavyyyyy, and no instant manual focus, hunting sometimes

get one, and forget 85mm if you like portraits... contrast burns your eyes at all aperture


no optical weaknesses!


http://www.thomas-leduc.artfolio.com/galleries/vipmodels-spring2014/592106
lenslover

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 3
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by lenslover
Review Date: 11/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,990.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp ! sharp ! sharp ! Perfect bokeh, contrast
Cons: May be a bit heavy for some. Nothing else to say.

- In RAW, absolutely no need of processing.
- Very sharp, very technically balanced in every way
- Built quality : top notch
- At 1.8, dreammy bokeh, fantastic night scene, unbelievable portrait with natural light.
- From 4.0, perfect sharpness from center to corners for landscape.
- Fast, precise and silent focusing
- For some, it could be a little heavy walk around lens, but you wont feel any fatigue when seeing its results.
If you owned Sony Alpha system, this is the very best investment after the useful standard zoom DT16-50mm SSM.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything but the price!
Cons: price!

a stellar performance. fastest 135mm lens available. built like a (beautiful) tank. Sharp wide open. a must have if you own a sony system.


Has a stellar price, but it's a zeiss.. and totally worth it!
slawrencephoto

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 3
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by slawrencephoto
Review Date: 4/6/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, Sharp, Build Quality
Cons: None

I have never used such an amazing lens before. It is tack sharp and combined with my a850 and a77 it really shines. Whilst it is a very good prime lens for protraits find it an excellent lens for abstract and general work too.


Yes it is expensive but you will be hard pushed to find a lens that is as good as all around as this one. Quality.


Si
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 11/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: just ideal FL , the sharpest lens in any mount, good build , great contra light performance
Cons: no SSM.

an ideal walk around lens for me , I just love this lens , this is the main reasony why I will always use Sony FF as my main camera.


there is nothing bad to write about this lens, just optically perfect.


only one problem with this lens is its lack of SSM but it is not a serious con any way.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by MartinM
Review Date: 9/4/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Aperture, IQ, solid build, perfect handling, focal length
Cons: Price

Not to much I can say about this lens. It is simply amazing. The IQ is outstanding and it pairs perfectly with my A850.


A very useful focal length on full frame. good for nice portrait and even for spotting a the airport very useful


Can be used with Sigma 1.4x APO EX DG (Non-HSM) with widest aperture at f2.8. Can't go wider as image blur
edwardkaraa

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 12
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by edwardkaraa
Review Date: 8/20/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ, nice bokeh, max aperture.
Cons: Contrast a bit low, weight and size, some flare without hood.

This lens shines at medium and short range shooting with high sharpness and beautiful bokeh. The ultimate portrait lens.
roweraay

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 2
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* SAL-135F18Z review by roweraay
Review Date: 8/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional quality on the A900 - none better in any system right from wide-open (my comparison point being my prior 135mm f/2L on 1DSMKII), excellent micro-contrast
Cons: Heavy and massive (due to the massive max aperture), heavy metal hood, should have been SSM (IMHO) even though some other users disagree

Please note that when you say:


" The lens was designed by Carl Zeiss, and is the fastest 135mm lens currently available, but only by a hair (Canon and Nikon come in with close second places, both offering a 135mm ƒ/2 lens)."



you have to remember that "only by a hair" means the amount of light the Carl Zeiss 135mm f/1.8 lets in over the f/2 alternatives, is almost 24% more. Almost a FOURTH as much more light ! Thus the "only by a hair" can be a bit misleading.


Either way, I find this lens to be exceptional on the A900, right from wide-open. Recently, I printed out some 24"x36" portrait prints from the A900 (printed out on Canvas) and the results were just mind-blowing in terms of the sheer amount of micro-detail the lens managed to prise out. All I can say is "wow" !


I also wish they provided a lighter plastic hood as an alternative to the heavy full-metal hood that comes with the lens. Of course a plastic hood provides the same functionality, while being much lighter.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.