SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 72539 10/13/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
63% of reviewers $95.60
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
5.50
spacerspacer
6.13
spacerspacer
6.13
sony18-70f35-56.jpg


Keywords: Sony Wide Mid Tele Zoom A-Mount DT APS-C Tested


dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 51
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good range for a lenskit, cheap
Cons: cheap build, soft wide open

I got this lens along with my A200 body. I was happy for the price, I thought it would make a great value for that range (18-70). In real use, this lens produces soft images, quite unusable (for me) until I stepped down to f/8. Then it would require lots of light.
I prefer the "shorter" 18-55 than this one, just because the IQ issue. This lens is a no-no!
Anaxagoras

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 1
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by Anaxagoras
Review Date: 6/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Light weight
Cons: Poor image quality

Having had decades of experience with film SLRs, this lens came with my first dSLR (Sony A350).


The camera is fine, but the lens - what a disappointment. Might as well have stuck with a digital compact.


I've since replaced it with a Tamron 18-200. Not perfect by any means, but a considerable improvement on this Sony lens.
Bogdan

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 2
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by Bogdan
Review Date: 5/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Range
Cons: Build Quality

This was the first lens that i ever used on the pro side there is the obvious nicer focal length compared
to the other kit lenses and although it doesn't seem much a 70mm lens has the field of view of 105 mm
on a APSC sensor and that can really help in many situations. it has a "macro" reproduction rate of 1:4
which is good for flowers and large bugs but it's not a macro lens by far if you want better macro
capabilities get the sigma 17-70 f2.8-f4.5 which has a max. magnification of 1:2.3 that being very
impressive for a standard zoom lens.
Sharpness:
quite good here nothing to really complain if you don't plan to make huge prints this is a good
lens for you i would say A3 would be the limit for the prints. I usually shoot f5.6 and f8 those seem
to be the sharpest but f11 is perfectly usable to
Build Quality:
the lens body is made out of plastic something common for kit lenses and it feels a bit loose
attached to the camera i feel "safer" with my tamron attached. The focus ring is a bit small though but
with the hood attached it won't be a problem even for those with big hands but on the up side the zoom ring has a very smooth movement.
Focusing Speed:
although it doesn't use a internal micro motor is still good but a bit noisy,
that can be sometimes disturbing especially when trying to shoot people who don't expect you to take pictures of them suddenly they become aware and the shot gets ruined Smile
Chromatic aberrations:
i rarely saw chromatic aberrations in my shots viewed at like 35% but at 100% they become more
obvious anyway it handles CA a lot better than my tamron 70-300(at 300mm)
after checking some reviews this lens apparently produces alot of CA i must have gotten lucky with the
sample...
Flare:
this can be a problem sometimes do to the little hood they supplied you can try to block the sun light
with your hand
Distortions:
there are some barrel distortions at 18mm but not really noticeable in real life shots only
maybe if you shoot a lot of straight lines :P
Vignetting:
i have only noticed a bit of vignetting at 18mm f3.5 but shooting like that in the day-time
when the sun is way up in the sky is not really a option
Bokeh:
i have mix feelings about the bokeh because it has 7 circular blades it produces quite pleasing bokeh
but sometimes when the background has strong lights the bokeh seems pretty harsh and it can be very
distracting
All in all it's a pretty decent lens which can take great shots. If you don't really need a constant f2.8
aperture or if you don't make huge prints i don't really see the reason for upgrading to the tamron 17-50mm
f2.8 for example.


some sample shots here ---> http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=29429803%40N06&q=18-70+DT&m=text
badger_packer_fan

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by badger_packer_fan
Review Date: 7/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $63.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: compact, light, decent performance
Cons: not exceptional at anything

Contrary to what was stated in the review notes section, this was NOT designed for a full frame camera, hence it won't work perfectly with the A900. It vignettes badly at 18mm and doesn't clear up until 24mm or so, at least on my Maxxum 7.


The lens performs as expected for this type. It's a little sharper than I expected, stopping down helps. It covers a nice range, though I also own a Sigma 24-60 f/2.8 which stays on my camera most of the time.


For the average person, this lens is great and even for an artist, it could be made to work.
Verde

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 2
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by Verde
Review Date: 6/21/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good focal range, good value
Cons: Solid results if you stay within it's capability

I've had this lense since January '08 and have been getting good results. It really helps too stop down from wide open and never go past f/16.
Review states the lense is designed for full frame, but it does not cover full frame on my 35mm bodies near 18mm. No biggie, I don't shoot film...
I have Minolta 28-85 and 70-210 lenses. Recently shooting at 210mm, F/5.6, and handheld, the 70-210 blew away the IQ of the 18-70 DT (making me realize this lense is not as good as I thought), so I've updated my post. (downgraded my rating of this lense)
Overall a solid lense for the price, still think it's a good place to start, but now I'm going to upgrade Smile
Focus

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 11
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by Focus
Review Date: 5/11/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very light, sharp, cheap
Cons: Feels cheap

This lens is very under rated, that's why I gave it a 10 for all. After all, you need to compare the price against the quality and I don't think a 16-80 CZ, which costs 5 times more, will give a 5 x better picture.
I can compare it with the 18-70, 18-135 of Nikon with the D300 and the Canon 17-85 IS with the 40D. In no way I feel this lens is any worse or the others better. Sharpness is good and the colors are great with the A350. Possibly the 16-80 has even more sharpness, but then again, it's not an honest comparison.
trix13

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by trix13
Review Date: 12/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: build quality is not what you expect from sony.

this lens comes as kit part with Sony A100 camera, or you can buy it for $200 ( msrp) ,
good lens for the price , but if you have extra $ get somthing beter.
comes with lens hood and caps.
glock9

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 DT SAL-1870 review by glock9
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Cheap, sharp across the zoom range
Cons: slow from around 40mm, very cheap feeling

I have used this one and the Nikon 18-70 f.3.5-4.5 this in my opnion is just as sharp if not just a little sharper however it is slow compared to the nikon and the nikon focuses alot faster.


All be said a very good kit lens and definately a must include if you don't have any other lens (i.e. don't buy body only)


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.