SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
20 111614 1/26/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $393.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.20
1nikon60f28microa.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Mid Prime Macro 35mm Tested


patricius6

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 4
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by patricius6
Review Date: 1/26/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image
Cons: Aperture

SUPER PORTRAINT LENS ON DX
123click

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 7
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by 123click
Review Date: 12/4/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp when stopped down
Cons: Terrible corner sharpness at f2.8 and often require artificial lighting, a tripod or a flash to get results.

Extremely sharp when stopped down but forget about using it wide open because it is just a blur in the corners and just mediocre in the center.
sgnirts

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by sgnirts
Review Date: 2/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $275.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, reasonable range, versitile, better focus speed than expected, f2.8.
Cons: None

You just can't ask for better image quality, this is "the stuff", decent macro range for flowers and stuff that you can't "scare off". This 60mm is one of the sharpest lenses I have ever used, works for people, pets, flowers, big bugs, copy work, products..and whatever else life throws into it's focal length. Add one if you don't already have this range covered, and easy choice.


The lens used for the SLRgear review must have been defective, i hope they test it again someday.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 12/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quality stopped down
Cons: out of focu quality

Both in DX and FF, this Micro has absolutely fantastic quality.
The best is with close up subjects, but it has extremly high results with distant subject, too.
The bokeh is perhaps worst than the new AFS, but the definition (without any CA and color fringing problem) is at top until f16 and more.
I've the AF non-D version, and I'd never met any problem with flare or unexpected ghosting.
The AF is slow, but precise (and it isn't important in Macro photography).
Keyroo

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 8
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by Keyroo
Review Date: 10/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VERY sharp, sturdy construction, great for macro
Cons: super noisy operation, focus hunts

This is by far my favourite lens, really fun to use and very versitile, good portrait lens and excellent for macro, put a UV filter on it though, if you get dirt in it ti's a bitch to clean,


very happy with this lens, i played with the new AFS version and i found the build quality to be very cheap and i don't think it was any where near as sharp when comparing images side by side,
BevanW

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by BevanW
Review Date: 11/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice build quality...very sharp
Cons: 105mm is probably better for macro

I really question why they posted this review. Obviously they received a bad sample. Dropped? This is generally considered one of the sharpest lens Nikon makes. I would ignore the results above. Don't take my word for it though...check out the following links.


http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/nikkor_60_28/index.htm


http://www.photodo.com/product_42_p4.html


Clearly the review at photozone and the MTF curves and photodo show this lens sharp wide open. Regarding the lens. The build quality is quite nice. This lens is great for macro and can be used for portraits. Although it is not as fast as the 50 f1.8.
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by SETI
Review Date: 7/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $465.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp !!! Exellent bokeh
Cons: Not so fast

Great lens. I use it for portraits and have exellent results ! Sharpest lens I ever had. Not so fast, don't have VR, but it's hard to unmount it from my body =)
matthewporter

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 12
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by matthewporter
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, Good limit switch
Cons: Need to be very close to subject

I have used this lens at work a few times and as one of the Micro Nikkor lenses allows for magnification up to 1:1. It has quite an old design including a push button autofocus ring that takes a bit of getting used to. The focus limit switch is very handy though, allowing you to lock the lens in either standard or macro regions. Switching to full allows focussing from infinity all the way down to 22cm.


Images taken with this lens are always very sharp and it enables you to make your subject really fill the frame. However, even when using this lens on a Nikon camera with its 1.5x crop, it can feel like you are having to get physically closer to your subject than you want, especially when the barrel extends!


I have experienced a peculiarity when using this lens on an old Nikon D1. While this is a constant aperture lens I could not get it to allow me to stay at f/2.8 when using the macro facility with it dropping all the way to f/5.6 at the minimum focus distance.


This lens may not be fully functional on the D40 due to its lack of an internal motor.
Turk182

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by Turk182
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $281.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Lens
Cons: None

This is one very, very sharp lens. If you want to do close up macro photography is is one of the lens you should have in your bag. It's MSRP price is around $630.00 but can be purchased used for around $300.00. Get one you will not regret it.
photogizmo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by photogizmo
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $369.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great product lens. Allows you to get extreemly close
Cons: None

I bought this lens to do product shots of small to medium items and it has performed perfectly. It is extremely sharp and the colors are well saturated. Also, there is minimal distortion when used properly. I tried the 110mm Macro and found that I had to be too far away from the object I was photographing to get the results I wanted. The build quality on the 60mm Macro is excellent.
Ross_Alford

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 36
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by Ross_Alford
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, my sample is extremely sharp
Cons: focal length too short for small animals, and shortens as you focus closer

I would recommend this lens, but with reservations.


This is a great lens, at least the one I have is. Tack sharp, high contrast, great build quality. I bought it when I moved from film to digital, thinking that its 90mm equivalent would make it about as ideal for small animal photos as the 105mm micro Nikkor I had been using for film shots.


I quickly realized that was a mistake. As with many modern macro designs, this one shortens its focal length as it focuses closer. Lens to subject distance is far too short for small shy lizards and insects, in general. The problem gets worse as you focus closer. I still own the lens, and still use it occasionally for plants and other things that are not likely to be worried by a short lens to subject distance. the extra depth of field is nice. However, for animals I always use a 105 Micro, and I would recommend that focal length as an all-around macro lens above the 60.


(added later--a later reviewer commented that themaximum aperture of lens dropped to f/5.6 at minimum focusing distance; this is completely normal; the Nikon DSLRs report the actual effective aperture, and for any physical lens opening, this decreases as the lens extends. You will notice that if you set it to minimum aperture you can get down to at least f/45, although actually using this is a mistake because of the huge effects of diffraction at such tiny lens openings; there is lots of depth of field, but everything looks blurry).
cottontop

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by cottontop
Review Date: 12/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Sharpest Nikkor at less than 7' Excellent contrast.


One of the only 2 Nikkors with "no measurable distortion", so it now widely used for macro-panoramas.


If one prints large detailed landscapes, what matters is resolution of 40lp/mm. This lens resolve 0,61 at f/8, ranking 2d of all Nikkors in current production.


I sell a lot of 12x18" wildflower prints made with this lens. It's a bargain.
CocoMonGo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by CocoMonGo
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Micro 60mm with true 1:1 repro
Cons: nothing much, but 60mm is not for photographing insects

I borrowed this len from a friend for a couple of weeks, and shot a couple of rolls with it. Is light-weight and is made more of metals then the common plastic lenses you see these days. At f/2.8 it isnt slow either, but to my experience, AF can be slightly sluggish when at close range (near 1:1). Limiting the focus range or better still, manually focusing is much better. The focus distance indicator didnt really help (since the hyperfocal markings are so small) unless you are working at near 1:1 range, in which case is superb. There is a manual/AF ring on the lens itself, which took me while to get use to, but became useful once you get the hang of it (I had problems initially when I could not remember if I turned AF off on the camera body or on the lens).


Being a micro, as expected the lens has extreamly good defination. I didnt take much 'non-micro' shots to compare corner sharpness. But being a prime I would worry a thing about it. Color is beautify natural and although it lacks a bayonet lens hood, the front element is deeply seated into the lens. Flare is the least of the problems.


The unit that I borrowed was quite well abused. It had a badly dented filter/front mount and a cracked (but functional) MF/AF ring. With the lens elements clean and scratch free, it still functioned perfectly giving beautiful micro shots (but could not focus at infinity due to the badly dented front mount which could no longer recess into the lens to be focused at infinity, lens design draw back? Maybe, I dont know). I therefore stand my this len's built quality.


Buy? Yes unless you want to photography insects and other creatures in which getting within 22/33cm of the film/sensor plane is not possible and/or otherwise dangerous. As mentioned earlier the front mount does extend about another few cm then focused at 22mm, which usually scared insects away.
deanzat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by deanzat
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, contrast, saturation
Cons:

I often use this as a "walk-around" lens, because it allows me to walk right up to anything small, or take a lovely portrait. Here are links to three of the kind of shots I enjoy from this lens.
http://www.pbase.com/deanzat/image/52679250
http://www.pbase.com/deanzat/image/30583636
http://www.pbase.com/deanzat/image/52679247


I'm sure I'm not as serious about photography as most of the people on this site, but this lens helps me get the images I want, because of its flexibility.
janda

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by janda
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build and image quality
Cons: Quite big and heavy

Surprisingly fast focus, manual focusing usable. M/A focus switch is bit funny.


When used with care seems to give brilliant results, but getting decent macro photos is demanding. Besides for macro photos it seems to be quite nice for upper torso portraits.
bullfr

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by bullfr
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent optics and build quality
Cons: -

This lens has been one of the bests I ever used. I did not personnaly owned it, but borrowed it from my dad for my travels, several years in a row- I wish I never had to give it back !!
Using it on a film F801, it was just the perfect combination - I lve the 60mm for any kind of pictures, and this lens is simply great. Nothing to say about picture quality, I never had any problems mentionned in this review. Build quality is greqt, since I cqrried it qll over the world, dropped it in the sand and took it up on mountains without any misfunction.
Now, on the D70, it still is a really good lens, especially for macro (tripod required).
ultrafast

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by ultrafast
Review Date: 11/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent sharpness in near macro range, good color rendition
Cons: AF is almost unuseable

I have to disagree with the test review of this lens. It treats it as a normal lens, which this is not. It is a macro lens, you would use it for things that are close up, not far away. It is true that far away the performance is not fantastic, but close up this lens shines. For flowers and other things that you can really get close to this is a fantastic way to get there. For skittish animals etc. longer lenses are better, but if sharpness in the near macro range and good solid construction are what you are looking for this lens provides them at an extremely reasonable price.
aquajon

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by aquajon
Review Date: 11/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $429.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp images
Cons:

I was able to take the best pictures of my daughter I have ever taken while using this lens. I was sitting about a foot and a half from her. The pictures are so sharp, shooting RAW on my D200 required NO post production sharpening at all. No changes to contrast, color, or tint. The colors were so right on true, her face was so clear, I can see the pours on her skin, as they appear in real life.
I've also used it for what it was built, and took some close up pictures of flowers, they were also sharp and required no post production editing, even the Bokeh was exceptional in these shots.
I wish they would redesign the focusing, I'd like to see all the elements stay in the barrel.
About the only dissapointment I've had, and maybe this is the fault of the R1C1 and Nikon, not the lens, is that I had to purchase an extra adapter ring to use the R1C1 flash kit. I didn't mind spending the money, but as this is my only micro to date, but the UR-5 is so very hard to get. I waited for months, finally getting the only one Calumet Camera had in their entire stock. They have several on order, but like other lenses, Nikon hasn't released enough for demand.
colourperfect_co_uk

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 18
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by colourperfect_co_uk
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: image qulaity, build quality
Cons: AF not to quick

Rescued my copy from a uncaring home on Ebay. After a good clean and a new lens cap it delivered excellent quality. Use it mostly for flowers at f8 through f11.


Always gave excellent image qulaity.


This is now an old design and its not up with the best for focus speed and the Manual / Auto selector is a bit clunky.


Also found that the extending barrel would occasionaly trap my fingers if not careful. The gearing and the D200's motor mean that this can hurt !


Eventually sold mine to fund a 105VR which gives a handheld macro capability for chasing dragonflies etc etc.


If you are patient enough and have a tripod then give it a go.


Colourperfect
mmroden

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro Nikkor review by mmroden
Review Date: 9/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp all the way around, 1:1 macro
Cons: none; does exactly what it's designed to do

I don't know if the original reviewer on this site had a bad copy of the lens or what, but I didn't experience any of the problems he describes. I've used this lens ery successfully for any number of macro photos, as well as portraits, and it's worked quite well in those functions. I've seen no flaring, nor have I seen left-sided blurriness.


This lens is considered one of the sharpest, if not the sharpest, lens that Nikon makes, at least by the cogniscenti at dpreview.com's nikon slr lens forum. I bought the lens based on their recommendations, and I've had only good results since.


A few caveats: I would not use this lens for bugs, as to get true 1:1 reproductions, you have to be quite close, and they'll probably scatter before you can get there. Spiders are an exception, as they tend to sit still when at the center of their webs. Handholding can be difficult when fully focused in, because any shake in your hands will immediately transfer to the image itself, so you will need good technique.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.