SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 86138 4/6/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,794.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.20
sony70-200f28.jpg


Keywords: Sony Tele Zoom A-Mount 35mm G SSM tested


slawrencephoto

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 3
Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 G SAL-70200G review by slawrencephoto
Review Date: 4/6/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, Sharp, Build Quality
Cons: Weight

I would recommend this lens to anyone. I traded my 70-300G for this lens and although I miss the extra 100mm the image quality more than makes up for it.


Si
Airphoto

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 G SAL-70200G review by Airphoto
Review Date: 3/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Bright superb color rendering
Cons: Focus speed is just ok , Not as sharp as price indicates

THE TEST SCORES SLR.GEAR ARE TRUE!!
This lens is a good 70-200mm IS works well down to 1/200th at 200mm.
The lens is just as sharp as the 70-400mm between 70-400mm at f/4-f/8, but not sharper. IF you use a TC 1.4x the 70-400mm will blow this out of the water!! No question about it Comparing 280 to 300mm the 70-400mm wins and at 400mm the 70-400mm is sharp! with the tc1.4on the 70-400=560mm still sharp!!! If you have to have f/2.8 it is better than the sigma.
calpon

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 2
Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 G SAL-70200G review by calpon
Review Date: 10/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, great color and contrast, build
Cons: Pricey

I agree with most of what was said in the Slrgear review, but I believe they got a bad copy of the lens.
My initial lens had the same issues at f/2.8, but was also great at f/4. I had rented one of these prior to buying one so I knew that it could be great wide open as well. After contacting Sony and having the lens serviced, this lens still exhibited soft images at f/2.8 throughout the range (worse at 200mm). I got them to agree to replace the lens and the 2nd copy was much better. At f/2.8, it is very sharp, but not as sharp as f/4, but usable for any purpose. I have enlarged images to 13x19 without any defects noticeable. Make sure you test the lens first to make sure you get a good copy as I have heard of others getting a substandard copy as well.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 G SAL-70200G review by lextalionis
Review Date: 9/26/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,870.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Like the Canon version every bit as good + an ounce brand loyality!
Cons: Big and white!

This is truly a work horse of a lens. Very fast and quiet...super IQ. Just check out these high resolution samples with exif data displayed:


High Resolution Samples take with an A700


-Lex
uniballerjimmy

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 1
Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 G SAL-70200G review by uniballerjimmy
Review Date: 4/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing images. Wonderful bokeh. Top-notch constrution quality. Fast focus.
Cons: Expensive. Heavy. Hard to find in Canada. Attracts attention.

Image Quality:


This is truly the best 70-200 lens on the market. The images that it produces are worthy of the G moniker in every way. I couple it to the A700 and focus is fast and accurate. Images are sharp across the entire f range and focal length. When taking portrait shots the ability to completely isolate your subject and throw the background out-of-focus is priceless. Speaking of out-of-focus elements, the bokeh that this lens renders is just beautiful. Some owners have reported slight softness at 200mm @ f2.8 but the pictures look sharp to everyone I've shown them to.


Construction and Features:


Construction is top-notch. It feels solid like a brick and weighs as much as one, too. No worries; every time I handle the camera I get a good workout. The zoom ring and the focus ring feel smooth and well-damped as they should for a lens of this caliber. The inclusion of 3 focus-hold buttons and a focus-limiter switch make the task of acquiring a subject fast, accurate and effortless. Even the tripod collar is well made and works great.


Cons:


The only true con is that people seem to get a little nervous when the lens is pointed anywhere near their direction. A minor con is the weight of the lens as it can get a little tiring after a long outing.


As a side note, the Sony rep at a local store here in Toronto Canada informed me that this lens will be discontinued soon. That might explain the tough time I had trying to find one. Of course I don't know if this is true or not but if you want one don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed.


Conclusion:


This lens is definitely worth every penny. So is the A700, but I truly believe that the lens is the most important part of the camera. Do I regret spending $2k on a piece of glass? No, not at all. I'd do it again if I had to. Especially to marvel at what it produces.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.