SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
19 44106 6/14/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,941.47
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.79
spacerspacer
9.26
spacerspacer
9.26
nikon-d80.jpg



  • 10.2-megapixel DX format CCD, 3,872 x 2,592-pixel images
  • ISO from 100 to 1,600 ("ISO Boost" to 3,200)
  • 3fps for up to 100 JPEGs or 6 RAW (NEF) images; 0.18s power-up
  • Selectable 11-area AF or wide-area AF
  • Large, bright 0.94x viewfinder
  • 2.5-inch LCD with 170-degree viewing angle
  • In-camera image editing and effects
  • Secure Digital memory card media
  • Full integration with Nikon's Total Imaging System

(From company literature) Nikon Corporation is pleased to introduce the D80. Incorporating Nikon's latest digital and photographic technologies, this new high-performance interchangeable-lens digital SLR camera features automated operation and advanced features designed to satisfy any photographer with the passion to create beautiful photographs and preserve special moments.


The D80 features a new 10.2 effective megapixel DX Format CCD image sensor, bringing a new level of high resolution and sharp detail to the class while also providing plenty of freedom to crop creatively and print impressive enlargements. Nikon's DX Format sensor and Nikon F bayonet lens mount design assure unprecedented compatibility across the comprehensive assortment of AF Nikkor lenses and DX Nikkor lenses designed exclusively for Nikon digital SLR cameras.


One of the key advances developed for the D80 is Nikon's own high-resolution image processing engine. Advantages inherited from Nikon's latest professional digital SLR cameras include color independent analog pre-conditioning and high-precision 12-bit digital image processing algorithms, which combine to produce natural-looking images that benefit from faithful color and tone reproduction. A new dedicated high-performance processing chip greatly accelerates performance on all levels, while also achieving lower power consumption, assuring more pictures per battery charge.


Nikon's exclusive 3D Color Matrix Metering II ensures accurate automatic exposure control for ideal exposures, even in the most challenging lighting conditions. Evaluating, rather than merely measuring or averaging the true content of each scene, input from the system's frame-wide 420-pixel sensor is automatically referenced against an onboard database of over 30,000 scenes from actual photography to calculate final exposure value. Variable center-weighted metering and spot metering centered on the active focus area are also available, as are exposure compensation and auto exposure bracketing. Sophisticated exposure automation combined with options for complete user control help to make the D80 an ideal high-performance digital SLR for passionate photography enthusiasts.


Advanced Auto White Balance (AWB) produces natural coloration by measuring the entire frame of each scene and matching white balance to the light source. For those who wish greater personal control, the flexible options include a choice of six specific manual settings, (Incandescent, Fluorescent, Direct Sunlight, Flash, Cloudy, and Shade), as well as a preset option for using a gray or white object as a reference.


Ensuring consistently fast and precise focus lock under varying shooting conditions is the D80's refined 11-area AF system. Adopting a refined version of Nikon's advanced Multi-CAM 1000 AF Sensor Module, this new 11-area AF system adds effective new focusing options that will instill greater confidence in getting the desired shot. For example, while the system is able to use each of its 11 focus areas individually, the center sensor can also be switched to wide-frame operation for broader coverage. New Auto-area AF mode measures all 11 focus areas, automatically determines which of them are on the primary subject, and activates only those areas.


Ready to shoot whenever that priceless expression or special moment presents itself, the D80 takes only 0.18 seconds to power up. And, the shutter's minimal release lag time of approx. 80 milliseconds delivers instant response while shooting, as does the fast and precise focus of the refined 11-area AF system with AF-assist illuminator. Images are processed instantly and recorded quickly to the inserted SD memory card. Preview images are also displayed near instantly.


Continuous shooting at a rapid 3 frames per second in bursts of up to 100 JPEG (FINE M-size or smaller) images makes action photography a reality.


Packing high performance and high resolution into a slimmer, more compact body, the D80 also remains true to Nikon's commitment to intuitive operation. The size, layout and operation of all buttons and controls are designed for maximum ease of use.


The D80 features a large and bright viewfinder with large 0.94x magnification to ensure the clearest view possible for precise composition. Included is a built-in diopter adjustment control knob also makes it easier to fine-tune the view to match eyesight. The viewfinder's integrated grid display can also be turned on to assist composition.


A large new 2.5-inch 230,000-dot high-resolution LCD provides an ultra-wide 170-degree viewing angle from all directions. A new dedicated Zoom button makes it easy to preview images and assess sharpness at up to 25 times magnification. A new RGB histogram display aids in evaluating exposures with greater precision. Other playback options include single frame, 4 or 9-image thumbnail display, an improved histogram display and highlight point display.


The D80 also adds built-in Standard or Advanced Pictmotion slideshow options, which includes style selections that control transitions and background music. Shows can be enjoyed on the 2.5-inch LCD, or complete with audio on a television when connected via the supplied AV cable.


A new menu interface featuring refinements to the carefully chosen color scheme and increased font size makes navigation easier on the eye, easier to understand and easier to use. Menus can be customized to display only selected items using the new "My Menu" set.


Exclusive in-camera image editing features under the new Retouch menu help ensure consistently satisfying results and greater creative freedom without the use of a computer. D-Lighting automatically brings out detail to enhance results and add creative flair, all while optimizing overall exposure balance. Red-eye correction automatically detects and compensates for the annoying red-eye effect sometimes caused by flash. Trim can be used to produce smaller files for easy sharing or greater efficiency. Image Overlay merges a pair of selected RAW (NEF) files taken with the D80 to create a new composite image. Other options include Monochrome settings (Black-and-white, Sepia, Cyanotype) and Filter Effects (Skylight, Warm filter, Color balance).


Multiple Exposure is a new shooting option that creates a single image within the camera from up to 3 consecutive exposures, producing an effect automatically that resembles multiple exposure techniques used with film.


Creative photography is as simple as rotating the mode dial with the D80's selection of seven automated Digital Vari-Programs. Choose from Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close Up, Sports, Night Landscape, or Night Portrait and the selected program automatically optimizes white balance, sharpening, tone (contrast), color, saturation and hue settings to best match the shot. The D80 also offers personal control over image optimization settings, with user-selectable menu settings for the Normal, Softer, Vivid, More vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black-and-white options.


The powerful built-in flash employs Nikon's highly robust i-TTL flash control for greater precision in flash exposure evaluation that achieves better automatic flash balance. i-TTL flash control also helps realize built-in features such as Repeating flash function for creating stroboscopic effects and the Modeling Flash, which allows photographers to visually assess overall lighting and shadow conditions prior to shooting. Full support for the Advanced Wireless Lighting System lets the built-in flash function as a two-group remote commander that provides direct control over wireless SB-800 or SB-600 Speedlights.


The inherent advantages of the D80 combine with the empowering and creatively inspiring components of Nikon's Total Digital Imaging System to deliver a new level of operating ease, expanded creative possibilities, and pure enjoyment. This of course begins with the lineup of interchangeable high-quality AF and DX Nikkor lenses. It extends to maximizing the potential of Nikon’s Creative Lighting System, offering benefits such as i-TTL flash control, Advanced Wireless Lighting, highly reliable FV Lock and Auto FP High-Speed Sync, and enabling high-precision flash photography with SB-800, SB-600 and SB-R200 Speedlights.


Convenient and practical Total Imaging System add-ons include the new MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack. Featuring an ergonomic design that blends added stability with extended shooting potential and more comfortable shooting in vertical format. The Wireless ML-L3 (IR) Remote Control and MC-DC1 Remote Cord options provide necessary camera stability when using long exposures, such as for landscape and macro photography.


Nikon’s PictureProject software, provided with every purchase of a Nikon D80, enables easy image importing, editing, organization and sharing. Design templates make it easy to produce prints, tailor images to e-mail, or layout several images on a page to produce creative album layouts.


Capture NX (available for purchase separately) is Nikon’s highly versatile and elegantly simple new photo editing solution designed for those who desire more creative control over post-processing and to help photographers tap the full potential of NEF (RAW) images. Featuring an innovative user interface that provides easier access to powerful and visually intuitive enhancement tools, Capture NX's powerful photo image processing and editing tools can also be applied to JPEG and TIFF files to satisfy a broader range of photofinishing needs and applications.


The Nikon D80 beautifully combines the best of latest advances in digital technology with ease of operation and quick and efficient camera handling. Add to this the advantages of Nikon's Total Imaging System and every aspiring photographer is certain to enjoy the Nikon digital SLR experience as much as the superb pictures produced with the D80.


The D80 camera body will be available for about US$999. The D80 kit, which includes the camera body along with the new AF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED DX zoom lens, will be available for about US$1,299. Both ship in September.


See our full review at imaging-resource.com. Or post your own review below!


Keywords: Nikon SLR SD APS-C 10MP


mrlandscape

Registered: July 2010
Posts: 5
Nikon D80 review by mrlandscape
Review Date: 6/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: far better sensitivity than comparable Canon models/as always rock-solid body construction/one of the best semi-pro cameras of those times
Cons: none

I use this camera when traveling to Ukraine and don`t remember situation when i run into a problems with this camera.
f43tgv

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 16
Nikon D80 review by f43tgv
Review Date: 9/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap secondhand
Cons: None really

This is a very good camera, and available for budget entry level prices on the UK secondhand market now.


Much was made of its metering deficiencies in the photographic press and On-Line review sites at the time of its launch.


I would concur that it doesnt have the consistent accuracy of ,say, the D200 , but having used a lot of Canon cameras I can say quite definitely that it is only variable by Nikons peerless 3D Matrix standards.


In bright conditions I always set mine to - 0.7 stops and work from there, something I have always done without thinking with every Canon I have ever used.


10mp is plenty for detailed A4 prints, the colour is good, sharpness excellent, and the results are always excellent even using Nikons so called consumer lenses such as the 18-200 and 18-135 .


Nikon dont make any lenses that could ever be called poor nowadays.


If you dont need the heft of the D200 and the cost that involves this will do you very nicely.


As ever the build quality of this camera is in a different league to anything Canon have to offer for the same sort of money.
cvizler

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Nikon D80 review by cvizler
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, DOF control, remote flash control, B&W mode.
Cons: Automatic white balance setting could be better.

I like very much its build quality, the comfortable grip and the separate ISO/WB/QUAL buttons (although I would have preferred a dedicated ISO dial, as on my Canon G9 compact). I appreciate the DOF control button, what I used before virtually each shot.


Automatic white balance setting does not seem to be better (or, in fact, as good) as on my Canon compacts or my friends' Canon DSLRs. I can not say much about the matrix metering, as with my previous cameras, I use spot metering only.


Noise is evident at 1600 ISO and 100% magnification on screen, but it is invisible on A4 prints. The in-camera processing is much better than in my Nikon D50, so I rarely use NEF files. I very often use the smart B&W mode, with virtual photo filters and lower noise than post-processing of RGB files.
grahambo

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon D80 review by grahambo
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO performance through +0.3, feels great in-hand, big viewfinder, lens compatability (old style screwdriver focus compatible unlike D40/D60)
Cons: Capture NX (Nikon's RAW processing software) not included

I held off buying an SLR until I could get one that didn't make a compromise in any area I cared about. This is it. The viewfinder is big, the controls are slick, the pictures are fantastic, and it feels so right in-hand. It's also considerably lighter than the D200/300


I use it with the battery grip for a few reasons. First, I never run out of power. The 70-300 VR is hard on batteries in long periods of use. I've used about one-and-a-half batteries shooting sports (Ultimate Frisbee) all day. Also, the grip treats each battery separately, so it works just fine with only one installed.


Second, the grip further improves the balance and handling of the camera. Matched to the 70-300 VR, the grip with both batteries balances perfectly. It extends the camera slightly giving my pinkie finger a place to grab. And, of course, it gives an extra grip and shutter release button. The button is softer, and can give a softer release when you are pushing low shutter speeds.


Finally, there is Capture NX. This is the most intuitive piece of post processing software I have ever used. Download the trial version and try it on some jpgs. Then think about that with access to the extra detail in the RAW file. The latest version lets me get the same color response out of the D80 RAW files as D3 and D300 owners are getting.


Most of the recent work on my photoblog www.photograhambo.com are from the D80 and processed with NX. It has made a huge difference in the quality of my work.


The ONLY bad thing I can say about the ergonomics of the camera is that when looking at the review image or histogram, I can't directly adjust the shutter, f-stop, ISO or white balance. Because the buttons are all doing double-duty, I have to push the play button or the shutter button FIRST to cancel playback. I've gotten used to it, but the setup isn't ideal.


Also, + and - on the rear dial were the opposite of what I was expecting (+ to the left?).
ghamden

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon D80 review by ghamden
Review Date: 9/20/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good digital potential of great images
Cons: sd memory

This camera has great potential once you get away from consumer lens and start using pro grade glass
Masselink

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon D80 review by Masselink
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Better viewfinder than the D70, Great LCD screen
Cons: Smaller (big hands) - needs more power

Previously i owned a D70. Great camera, but with a few downsides. The viewfinder was not that great and the screen was pretty small.


The D80 has a bigger screen and the viewfinder is was also improved. Buttons are placed different than the D70, but when working with the camera longer i found it much easier to handle. (except for the 'delete' button) The extra 'Func' button is a great addition, but i still find it hard to find when holding the camera.


The D80 is also slightly smaller than the D70. I have big hands, but holding the D80 is still comfortable. I had a hard time holding and operating a Canon 400d. A Grip solved the problems, but adds exta weight to the camera.


When comparing to the D70, this camera uses alot more power. (even without a VR lens attached). extra batteries(or/and grip) are a must.


My D70 worked with Compact Flash cards, the D80 uses SD cards. Personally i find these SD cars pretty fragile. I never use a cardreader anymore, but i attach the camera to the computer using USB. Luckily the D80 has Hi-Speed USB support.


I don't think anyone can be sorry when buying a D80.
btjh86

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Nikon D80 review by btjh86
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,140.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great value for money, good IQ
Cons: Plastic body

A very nice replacement to the D70s. The biggest difference I felt was in the viewfinder which was much larger and made manual focusing much better.


The autofocus is very nice too, snappy and quick.


Image quality at high ISO's are really great and nikon really got it right this time! The difference is negligible compared to the Canon XTi or 400D.
Anker

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon D80 review by Anker
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,299.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, picture quality and weight
Cons: None

I upgraded to a D80 with the 18-135 kit lens from a two year old D70 with the 18-70 kit lens. Its a step up in all respects and impresses me with the solid feel and outstanding quality.


I cannot speak to the scenery modes and in-camera editing since I shoot exclusively in RAW and post process in Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop Elements 5. But in that environment the camera is fantastic.


Nor can I comment on the built-in flash since I always use a SB600 and a Gary Fong light sphere diffuser when a flash is needed.


The kit lens either gets fantastic or poor reviews. I have to say that I am happy and impressed with it.


I had one minor problem to start. The lens and camera contacts were not working properly and I had to remove and replace the lens a couple of times. After that I have not seen the problem.
chili-master

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon D80 review by chili-master
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Huge viewfinder, auto ISO, fast performance
Cons: Overexposure problems, noise at ISO 1600

This is my first DSLR and I upgraded from a Canon point and shoot (PowerShot S30). I was deciding between the Canon Rebel XTi (400D) or the D80 and chose the D80 in the end. It is an amazing camera and I did not regret my choice. I got this camera with the 18-70 (not 18-135) kit lens.


What I like


- Huge viewfinder (much larger and brighter than Rebel XTi) lets me see everyone’s face clearly when taking group shots.
- All functions easily accessed. There’s a button for everything. I no longer have to dig through menus like on the S30.
- Auto ISO. I didn’t know about this after I bought this camera. The camera sets the ISO for me automatically (configurable) depending on the situation. Not available on Rebel XTi.
- Pressing two buttons (marked with green dots on the camera) and holding them for a few seconds resets all settings. Very handy, I always forget to check my settings and end up with last night’s white balance, exposure, etc. Again, you cannot do this with the Rebel XTi.
- Status LCD shows everything without turning on the main LCD.
- Very very fast startup and operation (especially after upgrading from a point and shoot). I no longer miss pictures waiting for the camera to extend the lens, save pictures, etc.
- Battery lasts forever. It’ll last for at least several hundred pictures between each charge (even when using flash and playing around with menus).


What I don’t like


- Aspect ratio of the frame is different compared to a point and shoot camera (pictures on the D80 are wider than on my S30). I found out that most DSLR’s are like this. This took me a while to get used to and initially it was difficult for me to frame a picture properly. However, the wider frame is better in the end because it shows better on my laptop (which is widescreen). It’s also very useful when taking landscape or group shots.
- Exposure problems. The D80 tends to overexpose a lot. However, to the D80’s credit, it’s smart enough not to overexpose night shots (as my previous camera always did).
- Pictures are a little noisy at ISO 1600, but noise only noticeable when viewing pictures at 100%. When showing off pictures on a computer monitor, the noise is not noticeable.



I recommend this camera for anyone who wants to take better pictures by learning to take better pictures (and not leaving the camera in "auto" mode and taking "so so" pictures). The extra $200 I spent on this camera (compared to Canon Rebel XTi) is well worth it.
placenamehere

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon D80 review by placenamehere
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: weight, image quality, good control positions + easy operation
Cons: lack of weather sealing

After a couple of months and a few thousand shots through the camera I'm still totally in love with this camera. Most of the use this camera gets is on hiking trips or slung in a small pack for a bike ride so I went with the weight over the bigger offerings like the d200, and though I haven't felt a need for it the only thing this camera is missing that would make *me* feel comfortable would be the better weather sealing of its bigger brethren.


Most of the time I shoot natural light in aperture priority mode with Auto ISO set (max at ISO800) and I couldn't be happier with the quality of output and other mechanics of the camera. Auto WB is better then I had expected (coming from various digicams) and is only fooled by mixed lighting and occasional late day shooting where it may drop some of the warmth of the setting sun. Either way its a quick PP tweak in RAW, but I usually don't have to bother.
daff

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon D80 review by daff
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: viewfinder, features
Cons: missing stabilization, priced Capture NX

I'm amateur photographer and I love photography. I was decided to buy Canon. But then Nikon D80 appeared and from technical information it looked superb. So I tried it in hands and it was great. I buyed it and I'm very satisfied with it.


I love level of configuration you can set up on this camera. I like status LCD display. Viewfinder is also amazing and very helpful.


What I miss is image stabilization, but maybe later (with some stabilized lenses) it will be without any complaints.


Image quality is just great, so is manipulating (two dials are very useful).


I have this camera with 18-135 lens and it is perfect combination for start.


In speed this camera is amazing. Power on and making photos is very fast, also focusing.


Very good is also battery information provided by camera (very useful if you want to go outdoor for some time). And battery life is great.


With 3fps it's enough for me (but maybe there are some situations, where 5fps could be useful).
RAW converting software is perfect (I love Capture NX), but it's not free.


Would I recommend this camera? Yes. Would I buy it again? Yes.
JoSKaT

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon D80 review by JoSKaT
Review Date: 12/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $13,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality, professional look, build quality
Cons: expensive

I cant provide you with a technical data of this camera as it's been covered by almost everyone but i can tell you how i love my Nikon D80.
Although i love photography, I'm not a professional photographer by no means. Just a regular guy that happens to like capturing beautiful things, snap shots of family and scenery. My first introduction to SLR years back was Nikon N65, nothing fancy but it took beautiful photos. Back then digital photography was starting to catch up , like a wildfire. The popularity and it's convenience and that reward you get from looking at your shots as soon as you get them is what made me try to explore digital photography. My first one was a Canon Powershot S30, a 3 megapixel PS. A few years after that i purchased a Sony Cybershot 7 megapixel PS. I have to say that both cameras were good and i still use them up to this day.
I know i'm reviewing Nikon D80 here and not the ones i just mentioned but there's a reason why i mentioned them, i'm trying to establish a fact that I am not a brand loyalist by no means. I research product and i buy what i think have the better advantage amongst it's competition. In other words i do my homework before purchasing a product. Canon have a great product on their D20 D30 models and so does Sony's A100, but just looking at them side by side with Nikon D80, aesthetically, Nikon is a beautiful piece of art as far as i'm concerned. But appearance alone cannot justify my choice. Photography is what i'm interested in, so image quality overall will be the deciding factor and i found that in Nikon D80. It produces tack sharp photos. I wish all newly converts to DSLR will get the NIKON D80 because this thing takes photos with excellent image quality. With that said however, again I will not tell anyone not to consider Canon's or Sony's. I happen to prefer Nikon D80. I like the idea that i am taking photos and look good doing it with a great looking camera. It's a matter of preference i guess.
I opted for the kit with 18-70 AF-S. I already have 50 1.8 Prime (a superb and sharp lens) from my old N65. I am saving for 18-200 VR lens. It's available here in Japan (i'm in the military currently serving in this part of the world). I am serving and sometimes i want to reward myself and i have to admit that Nikon D80 is one of the best purchase i have done in years.
This hobby is expensive but if you have the passion for it, i think it's all worth it.
Nikon D80 is highly recommended. I advise anyone considering to purchase a DSLR to handle all cameras for comparison and do your research. I'm sure you will come to the same realization like i did. Nikon got it right.
paparazzirn

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon D80 review by paparazzirn
Review Date: 12/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,234.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best starter DSLR on the market!
Cons: Wish it had greater than 3fps continuous shooting and came with Capture NX, but those are my only complaint!

This is my first DSLR and I couldn't be happier with this camera! I researched heavily, trying to decide between equivocal Nikon and Canon DSLRs. Everything pointed me to this camera. It is GREAT for anyone just entering the DSLR world. A lot of camera without an outrageous pricetag. Right out of the box, it was easy to operate and comes with a Nikon 18-135mm lens which allows about a 7.5x zoom and operates effortlessly, plenty of lens for a starting photographer. The quick start guide will have you snapping pics the second the battery is charged. The menu navigates easily and the display is a WONDERFUL 2.5" giving you crisp, clear feedback. Some of the flash and shutter speeds are not quite as fast as the D200, but for an amateur like myself, it goes unnoticed. I do have to say that I'd like more than 3fps when in continuous shooting mode, but to be honest, I couldn't justify the extra cost of the D200 just for that one feature. I'd also have liked it to come with the Capture NX software for full RAW editing, but the included software is enough to get someone like me started. Purchase a Nikon SLR Starter kit which includes a great camera bag, extra battery and informative photography tutorial for about $100 and you have everything you need to feel "professional" in the DSLR world!
mimic

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon D80 review by mimic
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality, better build than competition, very handy to use
Cons: not a d200 ;-)

A very good upgrade from D70.


I bought it few weeks ago, and I'm really pleased of the changes from D70 :


the viewfinder is a pleasure to use, especially for manual focus and DOF preview. that's the first reason why I swapped from D70. it is much larger and a bit more lighter.


Low light performance is great, high iso pictures, while noisy are very usable. iso 3200 pictures looks like iso1600 films, I love it.


quote from my D70 review :
Comfortable to use, buttons are placed where it should be, handgrip well designed, images are good quality, battery life is very good, AF is fast and reliable, even with low light.
That's the same for the D80, moreover the "func" button is very useful, and the AF one also.


the lcd sreen is great, very large angle of view, large size, and what I didn't wait for, colors are pretty accurate (close to my calibrated monitor).
RGB histogram is a nice feature since you cannot see channel clipping on luminance histogram.


HOHOHO, I forgot image quality, but there is nothing to say but : close to perfection.
oddly, it seem sharper than my D70 with the same lens (18-200VR), even when viewed at 100% magnification


For me its the best DSLR in its class, despite it's more expensive
f1maj2

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon D80 review by f1maj2
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, speed, built quality
Cons: exposure

Great camera. My first DSLR, I upgraded from a Canon S2IS. What a leap in capability and quality!!
I initially purchased it with a 50mm F1.8 lens, expecting to have to wait months for the 18-200VR and wanting to play with my new "toy" on my upcoming business trip. However, luck was on my side as, on that trip, I walked into a camera store that had just put their 1st 18-200VR on the shelf. Needless to say that the box didn't have time to collect dust. It'a been on my camera ever since. A highly recommended lens.
Back to the D80. An excellent photographic tool. Fast, flexible and it feels as it's put toghether very well. Image quality is excellent, but it has a tendency to over-expose when shooting outdoors in sunlit conditions. I shoot with a -0.67 to -1.33 bias most of the time under those conditions.
I quickly noticed that my sensor had a few hot pixels (actually 4 of them). Two of these were not too bad, but the other two were showing at ISOs as low as 400 and one of them was almost right in the center of my pictures. I sent it back to Nikon Canada for warranty repair, through the camera store where I had bought it. It took about 3 weeks to get it back, and everything is OK now. I still think it is a great camera, and I don't regret my purchase.
jemaerca

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon D80 review by jemaerca
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible feature set for the price: 10.2MP, instant start-up, fast 0.8ms shutter response and more!
Cons: Grip might be too small for some, Nikon Capture is extra.

Strengths: Incredible feature set for the price: 10.2MP, instant start-up, fast 0.8ms shutter response and more!


Weaknesses: Grip might be too small for some, Nikon Capture is extra.


Comments: The D80 is a very capable camera. It can go from a super P&S camera for photographers just testing out the SLR world all the way to some pro use. I would imagine D50 (and maybe some D70/D70s) owners would be tempted to upgrade. I can also see folks who were thinking of getting a D200 would instead buy a D80 and I wouldn't blame them. I was thinking of going from a D50 to a D200 but landed on a D80 instead, and quite happy with the decision. All in all, a very nice effort by Nikon.
Dave W

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D80 review by Dave W
Review Date: 11/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,299.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent ergonimics, low noise, high ISO, long battery life, fast focusing
Cons: No user settings memory, small fonts on LCD monitor hard to see

I have owned the D80 for about 3 weeks and am totally pleased with it. It is my first DSLR and an upgrade from a Minolta Dimage 7i. I do a lot of cat photography and the slow response, both focus and shutter delay, caused me to miss many shots. I chose the D80 based on the claims made regarding it's quick response compared to competing cameras. I have not been disappointed. I bought the SB800 flash with the camera and the system is perfect for my needs.


I have a real problem with pre-flash as used by modern digi-cams. It causes most cats, and some people to blink during the pre-flash and have their eyes shut when the main flash fires. Even the D80, in spite of its speed, shows this problem, albeit to a lesser degree. The lifesaver here is the ability to use the Function button (must be setup in the menu system) to fire the pre-flash and set the exposure. Then no pre-flash is needed until a new exposure needs to be set. Two quick presses of the Function button and a new flash exposure is set.


I've taken over 300 images since owning this camera. The exposure and focus have been right on for most shots. The few which have not been right can be attributed to "cockpit error."


I should mention that I bought the 18-135mm kit lens with this camera. Everything about the lens is excellent, including zoom and manual focus. My only disappointment is that it is not stabilized. I would love to have the 18-200 VR lens, but money is an object.


Most of my cons on this camera are nits. I really wish that Nikon had included several user memories for storing the camera settings used in specific shooting situations. I find it difficult to remember the settings used previously. Even when I have no problem recalling the settings, it takes a while to set them. Being able to just recall a memory would be faster and simpler. My obsolete D7i has 5 such user memories which I made good use of.


There is one important function that I wish the camera had - image stabilization. I realize that Nikon has VR (Vibration Resistant) lenses, but those are rather expensive. Also, a sensor stabilizer can be used to shake dust from the sensor. That feature would give me a lot more confidence in swapping lenses which I currently won't do.


I'd certainly give the D80 a 9 out 10 overall rating. Hopefully, my thoughts on this camera will help others who might be agonizing over which camera to buy a little help in making their decision.


Dave W.
boatdetective

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 11
Nikon D80 review by boatdetective
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: flexibility, exposure, D200 menu/feature set
Cons: Construction quality not as bomb proof as the D200

Fabulous balance of features, performance, build, & price. I cannot say enough about the images I've eeked out of this baby. I upgraded from a D70 & would strongly recommend this as a substantial move up the food chain. The buttons & layout are similar to the D70, so it's an easy switch. Of course, the D200 is a fine, fine machine. However, it will not take better pictures. would I like a D200? Sure. However, the difference in price means that for the price of a D200 body, you can buy a D80 + a 18-200 lens. Sweeeet. My recommendation: don't think- jump.
audioguru1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon D80 review by audioguru1
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: resolution
Cons:

I purchased the d80 to go alongside my s2.


Its a bit smaller than I am used to. I would like to see the lens centered more. I think the battery grip will help me a lot though.


actual battery % (like d200). very very nice. It even tells you total shots on battery.


I like the zoom button. Its easier to use than the d200 which requires pressing a few buttons to zoom in. The d80 is very easy to quickly check 100% quality.


Compared to my s2, and the d70 the viewfinder is amazing. Its large and crisp.


Its a very fast body, shutter lag is very low, and focusing is quick.


It can easily overexpose in matrix mode as it gives a lot of weight to what is in the center frame. Easy to work around if you know whats going on. People seem obsessed with this on the net. When doing critical stuff I use the histogram to judge exposure. Incidentally it has a nice R/G/B histogram.



The camera's 10mp sensor is great.


The camera can function as a wireless commander, and unlike the d70 can command other flashes while not outputting light itself. I love this feature.


I would like to see nikon replace the focus assist light with one similar to the sb800. The light tends to distract subjects and spoil shots. You can get around this by mounting a sb800 and setting it to "af assist only"


I would say this camera is 80% of the d200. The biggest limitation of the d80 is build quality. Im not sure how well it will take a punishing.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.