SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
32 371370 10/25/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,149.70
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.94
spacerspacer
9.91
spacerspacer
9.91
canon70-200f4is.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm L IS Stabilized USM Tested


caMARYnon

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by caMARYnon
Review Date: 10/25/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excelent IQ, light weight, very good IS and finally but not the last excellent IQ :)))
Cons: the hood could be better, slipping focus but after service it's ok

Image is excellent at all focals starting from f4. Close up image (at MFD) is very good, except at 135-200mm on my copy. For this situation I use only 70-100mm.
The slipping focus is history now after free service.
Pugwash9

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 7
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by Pugwash9
Review Date: 10/16/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, sharpness, weight, is
Cons: None...

Read all the reviews before committing to buy and was not disappointed, the IS all canon claim and the IQ beyond reproach. WOW this is one great lens..... to me well worth the premium over the older non IS version.


Used with a 5d mk111 and f4 no real handicap even when used for sport/ low light.
hdhani

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 14
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by hdhani
Review Date: 3/26/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, build quality, weight, 67 mm filter thread, IS, price
Cons: No tripod collar, 'only' f4

This is one of the best and most versatile tele zoom lens i've ever used. This lens won't give you back pain by carrying it all day long. Image quality is wonderful; at 200 mm, it can give you nice background blur. For candids, this lens shines.
Low-light, non-flash photography is where this lens lags behind, but it's an f4 lens. You should've aware of this before you buy it.
If you don't need f2.8, this lens will serve you good.
cpe1991

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by cpe1991
Review Date: 12/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,286.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superbly sharp, relatively light, useful range, superb IS
Cons: None

I bought this lens for a safari holiday based on these reviews. They are right - it is a fantastic lens. It is relatively light and well balanced on my 7D and I can walk around all day with the camera in my hand. It is tack sharp at all focal lengths, excellent contrast and colour. The IS is magic - I took a 200mm shot of elephants the other side of a lake lit by headlights at night at 1/6 seconds. I use it for bird photos with sharp crops of the central 600x600 pixels. There is absolutely no degradation in the centre with the 1.4x Mk III extender. It's a wonderful lens, which I use whenever I can. The f/2.8 MkII might be even better, but it is huge and I could not walk around with that all day. I compared it with a 100-400mm for bird watching, and that huge airpump at 400 mm was not quite as good as the 70-200mm at 200mm resized by 2x with Photoshop.
I have posted an album to show the lens with the 1.4x extender outperforms the 100-400mm https://picasaweb.google.com/afersht/Canon100400mmF4556Vs70200mmF4LIS14xExtenderIIIVs400mmF56LLensTest#
grule

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 7
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by grule
Review Date: 12/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $950.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's the best!
Cons: none

Best zoom lens in Canon's lineup.Just buy one!
kalboflyscot

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by kalboflyscot
Review Date: 11/26/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp! Solid build, weatherproof, fast AF.
Cons: Possibly price.

This is my first L lens and after deliberating on whether to go budget with the 55-250mm IS, I'm glad I chose the 70-200f4L IS.


This is incredibly sharp throughout the zoom range, I'm no pro but even I can see the quality on almost every shot and achieve numerous quality keepers with this lens.
charley

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by charley
Review Date: 9/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,025.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, excellent AF, IQ great
Cons: none

the IQ that this lens provides is second to none. If your looking into purchasing this lens I say go for it, you will not be disappointed at all. tripod ring and hood were included. I also purchased the 1.4 extender and compliments this lens very nicely...you simply can not go wrong.
PhilUKNet

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by PhilUKNet
Review Date: 4/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,358.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, compact, light, amazing image quality, highly effective IS
Cons: None

Conventional wisdom tells us that primes are sharper than zooms. So much for conventional wisdom.


I have never owned a lens sharper than this one. I owned the non-IS version previously and that was a great lens.


This one is even better, and the 4-stop IS feels as if a giant pair of hands have come down to steady the camera.


Look through the viewfinder with IS off and everything keeps wobbling around. Press the shutter half-way to activate the IS and everything just freezes.


The IS technology used in this lens is a big advancement on earlier versions.


My keeper rate with this lens is so high that I find it almost impossible to take a bad photo. There is no 'technique' to learn, as is the case with some lenses. It is a joy to use.


The focal range is very useful for general use and the lens is easy and light to carry around. The 70-200 f/2.8 lenses get great reviews but they are big and heavy beasties compared to this one.


If you want a bit more range, add a 1.4x converter. This combination works exceptionally well and you will be hard pressed to see any deterioration in image quality.


I'm gradually building up a collection of lenses that perform flawlessly. This is one that I prize highly. I can't imagine wanting to part with it for a very long time to come.


Many people seem interested in the non-IS version as a way of saving money. The non-IS version is very good but after you've used the IS you won't want to be without it. I strongly believe the extra money is well spent.


The lens comes with a hood and case but no tripod ring. However, because the IS is so effective I have never seen the need to use a tripod.


Some sample images here:


http://phil.uk.net/photography/canon_70-200F4LIS.html
nwardrip

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by nwardrip
Review Date: 4/8/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,135.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, high contrast, excellent IS, weather sealed
Cons: IS modes are manual, doesn't come with a tripod ring

The pictures it takes are as good as the numbers and graphs show above. The IS is pretty amazing at 200mm and the pictures turn out stunning! You can't go wrong with this lens.
marde

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by marde
Review Date: 3/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,510.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent
Cons: Nothing

My bag is already above 10kg.
Will I add 750 more grammes to gain one stop less ?
The former 70-200 has to be closed to F/4 to match it at the same aperture.
May be the new 2.8 L II IS said excellent since 2.8...
vongole

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by vongole
Review Date: 11/19/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, fast focus, just perfect
Cons: non, really

This lens is just great! Its light with superb quality.
I use this on my 50D and I just love it.


See:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3931433572/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3923088373/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3936712161/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3997801771/sizes/l/in/set-72157622430648979/


and all of these:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/sets/72157622430648979/



and a lot more on:
http://www.vongole.nl/singelloop2009/content/IMG_6953_large.html


Lens used is at bottom of page
alex1962

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by alex1962
Review Date: 6/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, macanics, optics, IS
Cons: Non

An excellent lens !
RadiantLite

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 16
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by RadiantLite
Review Date: 6/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, lightweight, IS
Cons: maximum aperture of f/4

Sharpest telephoto zoom in the market. IS works like wonder. Lightweight despite the focal length. This lens is worth every penny.


check out sample photos here:
http://www.radiantlite.com/2008/07/canon-ef-70-200mm-f4-is-usm-first.html
photographybyajit

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by photographybyajit
Review Date: 2/2/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,050.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness; Well built;
Cons: Price; Tripod collar not supplied as standard accessory;

Canon’s top of the line lens with outstanding performance, but of course with a hefty price tag.
Excellent sharpness across the entire focal range, with very fast focusing. Solid bulletproof body design with weather proofing to an extent. The ‘IS’ really helps when shooting outdoors handheld without a tripod.
The only downside is that ‘f4’ may not be as fast as its ‘f2.8’ counterpart in low light conditions or action photography.
Also, in spite of this being an ‘L’ lens Canon does not supply a tripod collar along with this lens. It has to be purchased separately. Tripod collars can give extreme stability to such kind of lenses when used on a tripod.


Would like to share some shots with my Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM on my Canon XTi:


http://www.photographybyajit.com/Travel/slides/IMG_0670.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Travel/slides/IMG_0914.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Travel/slides/APS080216_079.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Travel/slides/APS080216_065.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Travel/slides/APS080202_004.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Outdoor/slides/IMG_0678.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Marine/index.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Abstract/slides/APS080126_086.html
http://www.photographybyajit.com/Abstract/slides/APS080202_050.html


Happy Shooting!
ksbuehler

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by ksbuehler
Review Date: 1/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $980.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, light (compared to f2.8 70-200)
Cons: none

I use a 20D. This is my favorite lens. Sharp, wide open across the full zoom range. The stabilization system works beautifully. Focus is fast and accurate.


I also use this lens for macro photography with 1.4x EF II TC, 36+20+12mm Kenko extension tubes (68mm total), tripod ring, monopod, and small quick release head. Corners go a bit soft, but center remains sharp. I order this massive stack as follows: 20D->1.4x->36->20->12->70-200 f/4 IS. The stabilizer seems to help in the configuration, but I haven't done detailed analysis to confirm.


Using this macro setup at closest focusing distance:
70mm- 0.75" subject fills the frame
200mm - 1" subject fills the frame


The biggest difference between 70 and 200mm macro (using the above setup) is the working distance. At 200mm front of the lens is more than 1 foot from the subject. At 70mm it's just a few inches.
waro52

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by waro52
Review Date: 12/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,125.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, awesome image quality, size and weight
Cons: it's white

This lens is awesome. Canon nailed it on every front. Incredibly sharp and contrasty at all apertures. Fast focus, with no hunting. It balances nicely on a 40D and you can carry it around all day without a neck ache. This is becoming my favorite lens. I really think it is as sharp as any of my primes and the IS is the icing on this delicious cake.
beepclick

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by beepclick
Review Date: 12/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, IS, weight, build, contrast/colors, sharp sharp sharp
Cons: absolutely none, well, it could be black

This lens continues to amaze me. Even though it's a little long on a crop body (XTi & 40D) I find it's the lens I use the most, even when I just going out for a 'walkabout'.


With this lens, I know if I encounter a special shooting opportunity, this lens will deliver.


I can shoot handheld at 1/15, and my hands are n ot that steady.


Focus is fast, almost as fast as my 135L. It never hunts back and forth through the zoom range. The focus limiter switch probably helps in this regard.


Some people have complained that this lens isn't at it's best at minimum focus distance and F/4. Just take a step or two back, to 7 or 8 feet, and it's fine. I rarely shoot at minimum focus distance.


I do wish Canon would either make the lens hood white to match the lens, or make the lens black to match the hood. I think my 135 F/2L looks better, with it's black color/black hood, on my gripped 40D, but once you see the images the 70-200 produces, you realize it could be bright purple and you would still use it every chance.


Highly recommended. It will last a lifetime. I am looking forward to shooting with it on the 5D Mark II, if my pre-order ever arrives.
mrd

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by mrd
Review Date: 11/26/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,076.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Maybe the best ZOOMlens in the market,the most sharpness zoomlens in canon system.Very good color and construction quality.IS is really useful too.Smaller and Lighter than the 70-200 2.8.Maybe the only insufficient is the price.Nearlly twice to the 70-200F4.But it is more sharpness than 70-200 F4.TO this , I think the price is fair.
marshaa

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by marshaa
Review Date: 6/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp....light weight, IS, relatively small
Cons: f4

An astonishing lens. I owned an earlier version, not IS, which I sold due to non-use. This version is simply an amazing lens - sharp, stunning color, easily handheld. Would recommend to anyone.


Only downside is 4f - but when you move to f2.8 it becomes MUCH heavier, bigger, less sharp (I also owned 70-200 f2.8 and chose to keep this over it).
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 1/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's a 70-200 L, the best zoom L series Canon has to date, IMHO!
Cons: None

Super lens, 10 of 10 for me. I really think that all of the 70-200 L lenses are great!


Here are some sample shots: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/index.htm?openfolder=Canon%20Zooms/Canon%20EF%2070-200mm%20f4%20L%20IS/


Lex
dpsoftware

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by dpsoftware
Review Date: 12/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, weather sealing, stabilisation, focus limiter
Cons: Poor quality at close focus, Price

This lens does indead compare very well with prime lenses. The measured MTF values are very similar to the 100mm macro.


The one area where it fails to impress is at its close focus distance. In fact below 5 feet the image quality is very poor - MTF about 1/3 of its value from infinity to 5 feet, effectively useless.


To use the lens for close-up work, simply attach either extension tubes or the 500D closeup lens (via a step-up adapter ring). Either of these methods allow the lens focus to be positioned near infinity and the quality is restored.


Dave Peters
DP Software
zoomfreak

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 9
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by zoomfreak
Review Date: 12/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast AF (although not as fast as my 85f1.8), sharper than all primes in this range.
Cons: expensive and white .

Although this lens is almost perfect optically , I sold it for a couple of small lenses (85f1.8 and 100f2) because it was just simply too conspicuous and bold.


I was arrested in Burma and other places for this .



I love the quality of this lens but I can not have it because it got me arrested or my face punched a few times times .
When you are working as some kind of travel photog for a mag or like that , you some times need to be in dangerous places like Burma or Iran , and you are not safe with a white lens there.


People kill you seriously.


That said , if I were shooting landscapes or day light sports , or even some portrait as a hobbist , I love this insanely sharp lens, though, I think people especially L snobs are too obsessed with resolution chart sharpness and forget about anything else.


If I were a hobbist and printing out no bigger than A3 , I will buy an EF-S55-250IS(just very sharp and light , though not as contrasty as this L lens).


But for pro sport in day light or landscapes in night(IS gives me about 5 stop advantage, so when I usually need ISO1600 , I can use ISO200) , it is a super lens because of the Af and weather-sealing.


Just not use it in Burma.
hitendra

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 11
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by hitendra
Review Date: 11/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,160.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional in all respect, a perfect 10! Its like having multiple primes in one package!!
Cons: Missing tripod collar, if your style of work require lot of tripod use, then buy one.

Check images here...
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/photoblog/index.php?x=browse&category=32&pagenum=1
uwalover

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by uwalover
Review Date: 10/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: perfect sharpness, excellent build , fast AF, vibrant color, use of a 67mm filter
Cons: the white color barrel .

nothing to complain about it or can not complain anything about it other than the color of its barrel.


I wished it had been a black lens.


I hope Canon will make a black version of it.


This is the sharpest lens in the world in all mounts.


I tried all similar lenses , and I am sure this is sharper than most of primes in real life use with its 5 stop IS , it is better than what Canon says of it , is a 5 stop IS for me than 4 .


I am thinking of painting it with black color stuff .
EF-S10-22

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 20
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by EF-S10-22
Review Date: 9/20/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great IQ, the resolution , the AF , the color all fine.
Cons: the white colored body.

As a lens, it is almost as perfect as it gets, though I can not be inconspicuous with this one , get too much attention , and when I point it at any person , he or she stops smiling or gets nervous ...........


So as I am a travel photographer for a mag , I now , use the 70-300DO instead and now , nobody gets scared of me shooting them and I can get natural real smile of people.


It does not matter how sharp it is if no body smiles at it .


That said , if I am shooting an animal or landscape (which I do not like to shoot ,boring to me),it is the best lens to go out with.
Dagzz

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by Dagzz
Review Date: 9/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: None

The best zoom on the market and the best thing ever made by Canon!
Nolthing more to say


Dagzz


°°
Wolfini

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by Wolfini
Review Date: 4/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,490.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, IQ, IQ!! IS; reasonable weight and size
Cons: prize, white color

What a lens. IQ is fantastic: sharp to the edges from wide open, wonderful contrast and colors, no ca, no flare.... The resolution is so high, that on my 30d I often see jagged pixels on diagonals at 100% view. Last weekend I took some flower pics, and the colors were wonderfully rich and saturated even in Neutral Picstyle.


I have compared this to the marvelous 200/2,8 L, and the zoom is better by far in the corners down to f8,0. In the center there is no visible difference. Only in use with a TC the prime wins in the center, but again loses in the corners.


My only (small) niggle is, that the AF hit rate seems to be not as high as with the prime, probably because the special AF-Sensor of the 30d is only actitvated with f2,8 lenses. Still this far from a problem, just that from time to time the AF is a bit off (not systematically).


IS is good, 1/15s is possible with luck.


I just bought the lens a few weeks before Cashback began in Europe, which is a pity, because now it would cost me EUR 200 less... and for (now) 880 Eur after CB this lens really is worth the money. Most Highly Recommende!
heimo

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by heimo
Review Date: 1/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, small, light, unobstrusive...
Cons: A tad expensive, but worth every penny if you have seen the results!

I used to own both the 2.8/70-200 (very sharp) and its IS brother (a little less sharp, especially wide open) which I sold for this lens - and this one is the best so far, even on my full frame 5D!


The IS works really well, and lens is a pleasure to carry around all day, especially in comparison with its 2.8 brethren.


Canon's best lens that come out in a while! Now if they would only make a superwide zoom nearly as good as this...
random

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by random
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,180.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp at all combinations of focal length & aperture even at the corners, extremely fast & accurate AF, great "L" build quality & handling, state-of-the-art 4-stop IS, constant aperture
Cons: None!

Pros: Extremely sharp at all combinations of focal length & aperture even at the corners, extremely fast & accurate AF, great "L" build quality & handling, state-of-the-art 4-stop IS, constant aperture.


Cons: What cons?? There is none. If you want to nitpick: maybe a case could be made for the price, it could be a tad lower. The lens hood should have been petal-type like those used in the f/2.8L versions. Also, the tripod mount should have been included considering the price, although it's not that essential since it's not as heavy as its f/2.8L siblings.



Everything you've read about this lens is true: it is the sharpest Canon zoom lens made to date. Its delineation & contrast is equal to or even superior to most primes, including the L ones. This lens was designed to be shot wide open, it improves little when stopped down. It has something that even both the f/2.8L versions don't have: a Fluorite lens element, which has optical characteristics unachievable with ordinary glass. Fluorite was previously used only with super-tele L primes & a couple of older L zooms (the 70-200 f/4 non-IS is one of them).


This lens is destined to be regarded as one of the best Canon EF lens, zoom or prime, ever made.
rupa13

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by rupa13
Review Date: 12/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent sharpness, light weight, tough building quality.
Cons: no IS system; very visible due to the white coating

It's a solid, tack-sharp lens at all focal lenghts and f/stops. The light weight makes it an exellent solution for travels, even if this version does not have an IS system (I would dream to try the new version, but it's 400 $ more just for the image stabilization!). I changed it when I decided to try the Canon 70-300 DO IS, but this was one of the worst changes I could have made.
hakuryuu

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by hakuryuu
Review Date: 12/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,038.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, lightweight, build quality. Oh and outstanding IS.
Cons: ..price?

I got this lens about a month ago and have taken a few hundred images with it. Thus far I have been amazed by the IQ. It's so sharp! The bokeh is smooth, maybe not as smooth as the 2.8 version, but I didn't really see myself needing that lens as I do most of my shooting outdoors.


The build quality almost makes my 400D look like a toy when they are attached. Great travel lens, I am in Japan on vacation as I type this and other than being very noticeable I don't worry about it at all. Very solid.


The IS also works very well. It lets me take much lower light and longer zoom shots hand held than I could ever have without it.


It's a great lens and I would definitely recommend picking it up if you want a lens in this zoom range and want the best available.
jeeb

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM review by jeeb
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,129.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderful contrast and colour, very sharp, very effective IS
Cons: Price

I have only used the highly regarded non-IS 70-200mm f/4 briefly, but was very impressed with its IQ. This new image-stablized version delivers IQ that looks every bit as good: the same gorgeous contrast and colour; and it's very sharp as well! I do a lot of low-light shooting, so the hefty premium for image stablization is worth it to me. I'm getting sharp handheld pictures at 1/15 second at 200mm on a crop camera. Canon is advertising four stops for its latest IS technology; based on my experience, they're not exaggerating.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.