SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 179247 12/3/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $424.20
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.08
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
8.42
sigma18-50f28macro.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Sony Pentax Four-Thirds Wide Mid Tele Zoom DC APS-C tested


Nikoboyd

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by Nikoboyd
Review Date: 12/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $265.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Constant f/2.8 , Excellent IQ
Cons: Bad QC

I bought the lens "used". Excellent IQ , excellent optics.


Construction is very good.


But I found that my copy never communicate correctly with my S5Pro; 1 stop underexpose, 2 stops underexpose with flash (SB800), never provide the correct focal length data so my SB800 never autozoom with this lens, front focus.


etc.


Maybe, my bad luck. But this is my experience and my opinion.


Sorry for my bad English.


Update:
I returned the lens and got an old stock non macro version.
Enrake

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 5
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by Enrake
Review Date: 1/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: The macroability. Very sharp lens. Relative fast.
Cons: Non, so far

I got this lens with a Nikon D200. And I was surpriced of the picturequality. It is a very usefull lens. Fast, and with good macroability.
I´m very satisfied, and a little surprised over the quality of pictures from a so "cheap" lens.
Well done Sigma. Regards from Sweden.
bilfoto

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by bilfoto
Review Date: 8/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $518.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, even when wide open, good contrast, nice color, pretty fast AF
Cons: No HSM

I have this lens only a few hours... and I am very satisfied with it... Very sharp, even when wide open at 18mm and liitle less at 50mm. I strongly recommend it. I will use this lens for proffesional work. I also have Tamron SP 28-75 f/2.8. It is really sharp too, but less than SIGMA 18-50 dc ex macro.
Regards from Belgrade, SERBIA.
theduck

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by theduck
Review Date: 6/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, IQ, 2.8
Cons: No HSM on Canon Mount

I bought this lens recently to replace my kit lens. I looked at several alternatives, but decided to go with the sigma . I'm very happy with the image quality of this lens. It's a Sigma EX which I happen to like the build/construction of, but some don't. The 2.8 is great for inside pictures and pictures in lower light. All in all, it's a great lens. My only complaint is that i wish the Canon mount had the HSM motor. That being said, the AF is still quite fast and accurate and does not make that much noise.
blackstallion

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by blackstallion
Review Date: 4/21/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $419.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality is good IMO, decent macro and AF.
Cons: A bit soft towards the edges wide open.

Bought the XTi body only and wanted a good standard zoom to replace the Canon 18-55mm but didn't want to spend $1000 on the Canon 17-55mm f/2.8's. Looked at the the Sigma, Tamron, and Tokina f/2.8's and decided on the Sigma. Haven't regretted it to date. Takes excellent pictures even at f/2.8, even though they are a bit soft....not a problem with the portraits I take.


For anyone that wants a good constant lens at half the price of the Canon, this is the one.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by lextalionis
Review Date: 3/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $430.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wide angle macro and sharp if stepped down beyond 2.8
Cons: Soft, soft edges and build quality is low IMHO

I'm not going to recommend this lens, but this is my opinion.


Photos speak for themselves. Here are samples taken with a Canon XTi:


Sample Photos


-Lex
chethaw

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 2
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by chethaw
Review Date: 10/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cover wide-standard zoon, better than kit lens
Cons: Don't have HSM for Canon Mouth

Decided to buy the wide-standard zoom lens next week but a big confuse between this lens and Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF, don't know which one should I choose for my Canon 30D. Somebody can give some advice, thanks
!
EF-S10-22

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 20
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by EF-S10-22
Review Date: 8/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $340.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good center sharpness, good close-up peformance.
Cons: horrible urine color , slow Af, very bad build ,deplorable edge sharpness.

it is cheap in Thailand now, much cheaper than the Tmaorn and much less popular than the Tamorn.


Well, I have the reasons why :
1 it is so slow lens , I am talking about its AF.
2 horrible edge and corner performance.
3 prone to flare.
4 horrible Sigma color cast.


I hoped this can be my back-up lens for an event work , though I had to ditch it in a couple of days of free trial period.


So I lost nothing , but now knowing that I will never touch any Sigma lens, period.


I think this lens is mechanically horrible , the zoom ring is very stiff and hard to turn.


The focus ring is so so hard to turn.


The build is so bad , just using it for a couple of days changes its body color , the nasty distinctive touch of Sigma paint is almost gone by just playing around with it for an hour.


I am sure the Canon EF-S17-55IS is a hundred times better lens than this, even after I dropped it on a hard ground , was fine , no damage , no scratch on it .


You get what you pay for , indeed.


If you are willing to pay to get the best , go for the Canon , if you need a bargain model , go for the optically excellent Tmaorn, though you will lose mechanical features of the amazing Canon lens; the IS, the USM , the FTM , the durable body.
edwardo

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 5
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by edwardo
Review Date: 8/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp, fast focus, nice feel
Cons: none

a really impressive lens. I was really surprised with the sharpness and color results. I would recommend this lens
astrofreak

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by astrofreak
Review Date: 7/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $489.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent color correction, very robust, smooth mechanics
Cons: lens cap difficult to attach with lens hood attached

I tested this lens with my Canon 400D and had direkt comparison with a Nikon 18-70 lens.
The Sigma did beat the Nikon lens in many respects but I was not completely satisfied.


The Sigma 18-50 provides very sharp images in the middle part of the picture all the way up to f/2,8.
The outer parts of the picture, though, seem to be of worse quality than the Nikon which, in contrast, is not 100% sharp in the middle (f/2,8 - 4)
My Sigma seems to perform better at 18-30mm than at 50mm (weird!?) where the images are a bit blurry towards the edges (f/2,8 - 4)
Best results with aperture set at approx 6,7 - 9,5 - sharp images right to the edge.
Closing the aperture to 13 and down to 22 does worsen the image quality again.
Other positive impressions: No ghosts on nighttime shots in a city with so many bright light sources.
Edges darken very little when the aperture is set at 2,8.
Very good overall performance for a Zoom lens! Highly recommended.
alanranch

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by alanranch
Review Date: 4/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, color practically everything
Cons: lens creep, hood and cap problem as usual.

A friend of mine urged me to try this lens and the tamron 28-70mm. The latter was out of stock so I decided to test this instead. 1st few shots and I was amazed by the color it produces that I had to buy it right away. 2 of my friends sold their 17-40 L lens and swtiched to this sigma so when I had extra money I had this in mind. No regrets. This lens delivers and makes my vr lens look baaad!!! IQ is at par or even better than one of those trinities.


My only gripes are lens creep and the hood and front cap. Man this has always been the problem of Sigma. once you put the hood its so hard to put the lens cover back. you have to take off the hood 1st to put on the cover arghhh Hope next time it wont be an issue anymore.


Bottomline this lens is a winner. Highyl recommended
smarriott

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro review by smarriott
Review Date: 1/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $511.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness (even at f/2.8), contrast, build quality
Cons: Distortion at wide end

I sold my non-macro version of this lens to fund the purchase of a Nikon prime, and it's the only lens sale I ever regret! I've now bought a new copy, and at least it means I now have the new macro version, which seems even sharper than the non-macro version I used to have.


This is a great walk about lens for when you want to go out with just one lens, 18-50 is a sensible range on APS sized digital sensors.


Although it doesn't have USM, focus is fast and accurate - no front or back focus issues here. It's sharp - incredibly sharp by the time you get to f/4. Contrast and colour are both good too, and it doesn't seem to have the yellow cast that some Sigma's do.


EX built quality is good as ever - this lens is well built, and substantial rather than heavy (it's heavier than a kit lens but not a neck-breaker). Focus and zoom rings are both well damped and a joy to use.


The only slight downfall is distortion at the wide end, but that is easily corrected in Photoshop.


I love this lens - highly recommended!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.