SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 74981 7/18/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $792.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.25
spacerspacer
9.25
pentax16-50f28.jpg


Keywords: Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C SDM DA* ED


slider

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Pentax 16-50mm f/2.8 ED AL IF SDM SMC DA* review by slider
Review Date: 7/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $899.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pictrue quality is as good if not better then len's costing $4,000.00 and higher
Cons: None

If you could only afford one high quality lens per year, this one would be the one I buy. Images are sharp and clear, the motor is very quite, and very forgiving,and supper fast. it's a great wide angle lens. I use this lens in Yosemite this year, and the photos are so clear and sharp, that I did'nt have to spend all my time in photoshop, doing small adjustments to make it a great photograph.
grim grimsson

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Pentax 16-50mm f/2.8 ED AL IF SDM SMC DA* review by grim grimsson
Review Date: 5/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well built, nice color rendition, sharp, AF both quick and quiet
Cons: Heavy, some vigneting and distortion in wide end

The lens operates smooth, and AF on my K10D is fast and precise. I was worried about the back focusing that I have read much about. It did back focus, then most my lenses have done all the time. Downloaded the debug software and adjusted the focus. Now all my lenses are much better, and this one hits perfect almost every time.
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Pentax 16-50mm f/2.8 ED AL IF SDM SMC DA* review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $720.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, CA´s, building
Cons: distorsion at 16mm, price

I bought this lens for a friend who also works with the K 10. Personally Iam using the Tamron SP 17-50 f2.8, which is very good too and costs the half-price.... Its a sharp, welldesigned and constructed lens. Cornershading and distorsion are strong only at 16mm and nearly without CAs. Quick focussing but the price is a problem.....
rei_vilo

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 2
Pentax 16-50mm f/2.8 ED AL IF SDM SMC DA* review by rei_vilo
Review Date: 4/21/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build high quality - Silent and fast AF -Lens and image quality - In-door versatibilty
Cons: Some light vignetting

With this new lens, we're dealing with truly professional gear. I would say, as for the DA* 50-135mm, that the DA* 16-50mm is the lens the K10D was waiting for.


As always with Pentax, ergonomics and ease of use are great. The weight and size of the lens are normal.
During my test today, I haven't felt the limitation to 50mm and haven't missed the extra zoom provided by the DA 18-55mm.


Most important, image quality is here and I had a lot of fun.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.