SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
13 82365 10/5/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $212.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.08
spacerspacer
8.62
spacerspacer
8.54
1nikon28-105f35-45a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm


sjkip

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 9
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by sjkip
Review Date: 10/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good focal length range, very sharp, usable macro.
Cons: Heavy, no VR, macro is a bit difficult to switch into.

Hardly a state of the art lens. But they're so cheap for what you get it's hard not to get your money's worth out of it. The focal length range is adequate for most purposes, and the macro is almost a true macro, plenty good enough for most purposes. The heft of the lens compensates a bit for the lack of VR, but VR would be nicer. Nevertheless, it's a good, handy package for a walkabout. I've thought of unloading it many times, but I still have it and intend to keep it. That says something.
cali4nia

Registered: May 2013
Posts: 7
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by cali4nia
Review Date: 5/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $120.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: jack of all trades
Cons: some hallos fully open, on the heavy side

It's an FF lens and it does perform better on FF. It's reasonably sharp wide open, very sharp one stop closed, some vignetting on 28mm, but nothing too bad. Macro goes to 1:2, it isn't very conveniently designed, but it's better than not having it.
On APS-C it's not as good. Fully open the lens is soft and contrast isn't that good with some halos in high contrast situations. The lens has very good resolution when closed one stop on the short end. Resolution and contrast get worse on the long end, still one stop down and it gets very good.
Overall, it's not a stellar lens, but it's a good performer for very little money.
Compared to 24-120/3.5-5.6D lens this one is practically equal on the short end, though 24-120 doesn't have any haloing and slightly better wide open. The 24-120 also has better corners on FF. On the long end 24-120 lens is better wide open, but both are very much the same when closed to f/8. I would say 24-120 is overall a slightly better performer, but I wouldn't hesitate getting any of those D lenses.
Chop

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 7
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by Chop
Review Date: 10/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good optical quality, contrasty and sharp. Low cost
Cons: Plasticy feel and construction.

This is a good all around carry lens on a DX or FX autofocus camera. Good performer but a little soft on either end wide open. Very good all around. I like it and use it often on a F100 if I'm carrying one lens. Good color and contrast.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: build quality, versatile range, IQ, macro mode
Cons: none

a very balanced lens. I got it as a "kit" on my F90x. It is a strong performer and does almost anything you'll ever needed in photography. An ideal walkaround-performance lens in its era. I used it much for portraits back then. It produces a nice looking bokeh.


One nice additional is the "semi" macro capability. It has close focusing ability (manual mode) to boost up your creativity. Not a real macro lens, but it's so fun to use.
iamunique127

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by iamunique127
Review Date: 5/5/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, contrasty, well built, good range, little distortion, relatively fast,acceptable macro
Cons: front element turns while zooming

This is truly a hidden gem in the Nikon lens line-up. It is sharp and contrasty, displays good colour rendition, has little distortion and is fast for a non-pro lens. It also has on-board macro built-in (really close focusing but close enough).


I have an aversion to the 18-xx(x) zooms because of the distortion at the wide end and the cheap plastic feel. All those consumer grade lenses seem mediocre in all respects, from IQ to build quality to aperture speed. I've owned several and used most of them.


In my experience this 28-105 outperforms the newer, wider lenses in all respects (except maybe lack of AF-S). Even at that, the 28-105 auto focuses and acquires focus as fast or faster than it's newer counterparts. In my hands this lens feels more well built, sturdy and rugged than any of the plasticy AF-S lenses.


I've moved to mostly prime lenses for the image quality, colour and contrast but for an everyday, walk around, do everything lens, the 28-105 stays on my camera most of the time. If I have a specific task to do I'll chose the prime(s) for the job but if I need a zoom other than an ultra wide or long telephoto I'll take the 28-105 anytime.


I needed a lens for an up-scale fashion show and decided I needed a zoom for the versatility of a fast paced environment. I chose the 28-105 and came away with some of the best images in my portfolio.


As far as use on a crop sensor DSLR, I know I don't have the wider end with this lens but I am satisfied with the range I know I have if I decide to use it.


Granted, the macro feature is not for 1:1 reproduction but it allows me to get close photos of flowers, tree buds and abstract objects that I would not otherwise be able to get with other than a dedicated macro lens.


Flare can be a bit of an issue with this lens if the sun or bright lights are in the frame but I bought an inexpensive, collapsible rubber lens hood for the lens that I just leave on it all the time. Flare is now seldom an issue.


The one area with which I am dissatisfied with the 28-105 is the rotating front element. I find having to try and remember to re-adjust my C. Pol. filter each time I zoom to be a real pain. Thankfully it is much easier to adjust the C. Pol with a rubber hood that screws into it than to adjust a C. Pol by reaching into the bayonet hood found on newer lenses.


Choosing photography gear is all about making compromises. I feel I make the least compromises and come away with the most useful all around lens when I chose the 28-105.
David Bickle

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by David Bickle
Review Date: 11/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $225.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great walk around on my D700, sharp, built well
Cons: Macro works but clunky operation

This is a hidden gem for the price point. Reasonably fast focus, sharp, great range, slight distortion at28mm. This is certainly not a pro lens but it holds up quite well if used properly.
moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by moose
Review Date: 11/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $330.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f4.5 at 105mm and well built
Cons: not AF-S

Nikon professional user. I use this lens on my D300 and D200 for general outdoor work and macro. It is a good all-round lens but not as good as the pro lenses I use. New copies are fairly scarce in the UK but worth searching out if you want a good reliable lens at a reasonable price. At f4.5 for a 105mm lens it is a good buy.
sgnirts

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by sgnirts
Review Date: 2/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp!, great range (cept wide), nice macro, quick focus, nice handling, color, contrast.
Cons: no cons, just find one and buy it!

What a perfect walk around lens, the range is very nice, f3.5-f4.5 keeps this lens reasonably fast, quick to focus accurately, and plenty sharp wide open. The bokeh looks nice. I think the 28-105mm has a solid build, with all the color and contrast Nikon is known for. The 28-105mm is the hidden gem of the Nikon line. I have Many great Nikon lenses, but this stays mounted to my DSLR more than any of the others.
Kiron Kid

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by Kiron Kid
Review Date: 1/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well built, lightweight with sharp optics.
Cons: None

I've been very pleased and satisfied with the performance of this lens. It's a bit lightweight, but it is built well. The "macro feature (1:2) is much better than I expected. I've also found it to be quiet sharp at all focal lenghts (aspheric elements). I've used it hard, professionally for over five years, and it still performs like new. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one or recommend it to someone else.


Kiron Kid
TSax

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 2
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by TSax
Review Date: 9/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $190.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Reasonable range, little distortion, sharp
Cons: Macro not the best

Purchased a used 28-105 lens to go with a N80 for my wife a few years ago. Great image quality, sharp, contrasty and very little distortion--especially for an inexpensive zoom. Bought a second, used lens for my F100, same great optical results. I've also used it on my D80 and had the same experience. The second lens had seen more use and is a little stiff but the optics are as good as the first.


The macro is touchy and sometimes difficult to get out of. You have to refocus on something distant.


No, it's not a 2.8, but it is one of the better mid range f3.5 zooms I've found.
mimic

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by mimic
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: very good standard zoom for 24*36 SLR, 1:2 macro mode
Cons: not a good range for DSLR

this lens is a very good one on analog SLR, but nearly useless on DSLR, I only use it for macro on my D70.


build quality is average (lots of plastic, but metal lount).


optical quality is very good for a consumer lens :
few distortion
acceptably sharp wide open
very sharp stopped down
very sharp at macro distance and apertures
quite large aperture compared to other consumer standard zooms


flare is the only drawback I found about it, since contrast suffer a lot of it when the sun is in or near the frame.


it was my only lens for years with my f60, and a good one.


Aymeric
boatdetective

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 11
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by boatdetective
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice range, surprisingly good optics
Cons: poor macro

For the money, this is a great little lens. I had it on my F100 and used it daily- never a flinch. The supposed 1:2 macro feature is a total waste of time. Buy a micro Nikkor if you want decent macro ability. The construction quality of the lens is very light weight & plastic. However, it never gave me any problems. There are many great deals out there on older nikkor glass for you film buffs. However, if you want n every day lens that will cover most subjects with decent optical quality- go no further.
Hokum

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor review by Hokum
Review Date: 6/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, very good macro, sharp, little distortion
Cons: Plastic body but what would you espect, slowish AF, flare

A true midrange lens in many senses.


Offering standard to mild telephoto, the lens offers alot for walk around use, on digital its a 42-157mm lens.


The plastic body is tough and is built ok, the Zoom is smooth but the front of the lens rotates 1/4 a turn while zooming.


The optics are supurb, the only difference between this and a "professional" lens is that this is 3.5-4.5 not 2.8. distortion is very wel controled due to a aspherical lens element, and CA is tightly controlled.
The only slight issue is flare when the front is struck by the sun.


The other great feature is the 1:2 macro, this lens is very sharp in macro mode and the 157mm effective focal length is good for bug macro's and plant shots.


As a set with the 18-35 D ED and 70-300 D ED it makes a compact and light travel setup.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.