SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 65243 7/24/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $312.28
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.71
spacerspacer
9.57
spacerspacer
8.29
1canon50f251.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Mid Prime 35mm


babka08

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by babka08
Review Date: 7/24/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, good colour, versatile, compact
Cons: noisy, only 1:2 macro

This lens is optically simply excellent. Sharp, clear, good contrast and colour. And because it goes to 1:2 macro it is much more versatile than the other fast 50s. I like it, but it just doesn't fit my needs. I really wanted 1:1 macro so have gone with a 100mm. But if you don't need to get super close to your subject (flowers, for example) it really is great. And f/2.5 is quite fast, especially because the 50 1.8 and 1.4 don't really get sharp till around f2 or 2.5. It has great bokeh for close ups and good bokeh for more distant subjects like portraits.


The lens's construction is good. Solid plastic with metal mount. The negative – it's showing its age – is its focus motor, which is loud for a Canon lens. If you're comparing to all the Pentax or Sony-Minolta screw driven lenses, then it's the same deal. If you are on a budget, and want a really versatile normal length lens, this is recommended. Or if you just want a really sharp 50 that's just a bit slower than the rest, get it. But probably not your best bet for a quiet wedding shoot...
shiphorns

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by shiphorns
Review Date: 12/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Outstanding image quality at a good price
Cons: Slow AF, only 1:2, life-size converter degrades image

I've had this lens more than a decade, and I still use it more than any other (though I have a EF-S 60 on the way, so that may change tomorrow). When used alone, this is a superb lens for still subjects. It's not a true 1:1 macro, but it is great for photographing smaller items (coins, jewelery, etc) and perfect for copy work. It's tack-sharp across the frame between F/4 and F/8, and has negligible vignetting, CA or distortions.


What's not so great about this lens is its very slow focus motor speed. The little noisy motor can be frustrating when the lens AF decides to hunt in low light.


If you buy this lens, use it for what it is, don't waste money on the "life-size converter". Adding the converter gets you effectively 70mm f/3.5 but reduces sharpness and contributes significant chromatic aberration. Not only that, but you lose the ability to focus at infinity, but that's not the dealbreaker, the purple fringing is. Put the extra money towards a longer focal length macro lens instead of the converter. Canon's 100mm USM macro and Sigma's 105mm both seriously outperform the 50/2.5+converter, FYI.
perpera

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 13
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by perpera
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Very good IQ
Cons: Build quality not very good. Very old design. Slow AF

See pros and cons ...
The lens is actually not a real 1:1 macro but a 1:2 macro. You would need a converter. Therefore the Sigma 50mm macro might be a better buy.
I think this lens severely need an update. It's build quality is not up to modern standard.
_Mike_D

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by _Mike_D
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $280.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, well built
Cons: 'only' 1:2

This is a great lens from canon, Well built and sharp as a tack.


The only thing to keep in mind with this lens is that it does not focus to true 1:1 macro, only 1:2. This may or may not be an issue, but most 50mm macros competing with this lens will go to 1:1.


Overall I would easily recommend this lens though, its great if you are in need of a 50mm lens.
David Hay

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by David Hay
Review Date: 11/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $476.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good value, bitingly sharp, flat field.
Cons: Noisy AF, light but rough manual focus.

A workhorse lens for use on a copy stand. I also used this lens hand held for nature details. Often used in manual focus mode when the focussing ring can be spun round with a fingertip, it is so light. Sometimes used with a 25mm extension tube for 1:1. Well shielded front element so no flare problems. Was used to take a photo that appeared in Nat Geo.


One of the sharpest lenses I have used.
freddycam

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by freddycam
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $239.95| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: very sharp, excellent colours, small & light
Cons: only half life-size, lifesize converter is expensive, very slow AF motor, AF pumping in low light, loud whirring focussing noise

I use this lens for underwater macro work, most of the time with its life size converter. The photos are amazing, but this lens makes taking them hard work (with the lifesize converter). The AF is so slow in low light that I have extra focus lights strapped to the camera housing to give this lens something bright to look at while the motor is pumping. Some shots were missed because the lens hadn't found the focus yet.
Without the converter it's much easier to work with, as the AF is faster.


We really need this lens with quiet USM focussing, as it makes an annyoing whirring sound when focussing. Small wildlife get often scared and scurry off before you can press the shutter.


But even with all the handling problems you can't beat the results : Incredible photos!
killersnowman

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 10
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro review by killersnowman
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good build, very sharp, is 50mm but also has macro abilities
Cons: not as fast as the other 50mm's out there, only 1:2 magnification

The build of this lens is very good. it has a very long travel focusing mechanism that is smooth and precise throughout the entire range. The front of the lens extends about the entire length of the lens, making the lens double the length when focused to its closest distance.


The image quality is top notch. Wide open it has great sharpness from corner to corner. stopped down it gets even better. i spent a week in Yellowstone / Grand Tetons and this was the lens i found myself using the most.


I have used this lens with extension tubes and the mt-24EX twin light. With tubes you have to get really close to your subject but i had no problem, even when photographing bugs.


Samples:


1. Blossom -- this one was done with 68mm of extension and was very hard to focus, however the look worked. this is not a good example of wide open sharpness


# Shutter Speed: 1/100 second
# F Number: F/2.5
# Focal Length: 50 mm
# ISO Speed: 100


2. Fruit Fly
# Shutter Speed: 1/60 second
# F Number: F/4.0
# Focal Length: 50 mm
# ISO Speed: 100


3. Tetons
# Shutter Speed: 1/400 second
# F Number: F/8.0
# Focal Length: 50 mm
# ISO Speed: 100


4. The Tetons
# Shutter Speed: 1/320 second
# F Number: F/8.0
# Focal Length: 50 mm
# ISO Speed: 100


Great lens for walkaround purposes. it combines the popular 50mm length with great focusing and macro abilities. however if you need lowlight then this may not be for you.


Enjoy!
-Tyler tbrigham@tcsn.net


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.