SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 65229 8/22/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $625.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.40
spacerspacer
9.80
spacer
10.00
olympus60f28m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Tele Prime Macro Micro-Four-Thirds tested


ezed999

Registered: August 2013
Posts: 1
Olympus 60mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital ED review by ezed999
Review Date: 8/22/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: compact, sharp, light weight
Cons: None for my purposes

I took the Olympus 60 Macro with me on a recent safari to Botswana. (Used the OM-D and also took a Pana 100-300, a Pana 20 and an Olympus 12.) The 60 proved surprisingly useful. Besides nice macro shots, it also was sharp enough to crop in Lightroom to nearly 1:1 and show a mid-distance, car-spotlight-illuminated leopard. Manually focused, it's whiskers and eyes were tack sharp. As it is dust and splash resistant, I also was able to take it to Victoria Falls and not worry about the spray.
aostling

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 3
Olympus 60mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital ED review by aostling
Review Date: 2/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: unbeatable image quality
Cons: none

The sharpness and contrast of this lens continues to amaze me. The E-PL5 has enough pixels that I find myself cropping (in post-processing) with no sensible loss of detail. It's sort of like having the ultimate macro zoom.


The detail is just as impressive when shooting landscapes. The focal length (120mm equiv) is well-suited to my Arizona desert scenery. When rains come I'll put a bag around my camera and let the lens protrude, knowing it will love the wet.


No lens hood is necessary. A hood would interfere with close-up natural lighting. There is no trace of flare, thanks to what I assume is efficient anti-reflection blacking on the interior lens barrel.


The focus limiting switch is an ingenious addition to the design, effectively eliminating any tendency of the drive motor to hunt for focus.


It is simply the best lens I have ever owned.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 33
Olympus 60mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital ED review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 12/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, size, weight, price, autofocus, weather sealing, silent
Cons: None

Even wide open at f/2.8, the image quality of this lens is excellent. Good contrast and an amazing amount of detail. I have no complaints at all about the image quality. This lens just delivers the goods.


For normal portrait or landscape work the autofocus is silent, quick and accurate but it's also very usable when shooting macro. Of course manual focus is possible too. The large smooth turning focus ring works like a charm.


The lens has a useful distance scale with a limiter switch on the side. I find this switch a bit difficult to turn though. But maybe if it had less resistance, it would be too easy to accidentally move it.


I did not give ten points for the build quality of this lens, because it's not build like the 12mm f/2 or the 75mm f/1.8. If it was, the price tag would probably be double of what it costs now. The use of plastic does keep the weight down and of course that is one of the benefits of this micro 4/3 system. For the money, it's build quality is fine.


If you need a macro lens for your micro 4/3 camera with this focal length, look no further.
Romboutroemer

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 2
Olympus 60mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital ED review by Romboutroemer
Review Date: 10/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $775.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, colour, size
Cons: Focus by wire

Superb little macro lens. Incredibly sharp with great colours and microcontrast. Next to the Pl 25/1.4 the second Mft lens where i am completely satisfied with.
boatdetective

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 11
Olympus 60mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital ED review by boatdetective
Review Date: 10/23/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, compact, sharp
Cons: AF at max magnification iffy

Truly excellent macro- and I've been shooting forensic stuff for over 20 years. This is a very, very light lens compared to my Nikon 105 and doesn't give up anything in performance. You have to get used to the unky switch on the side, which allows you to get all the way down to 1:1. However, it's not bad. At this magnification, you must switch the camera over to manual focus (typical of any critical macro work). Once you get the hang of it, you'll find this lens very impressive indeed.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.