SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
93 651744 1/28/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
91% of reviewers $411.95
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.85
spacerspacer
8.66
spacerspacer
8.56
1tamron17-50f28.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C Di-II LD SP Tested


SteveDP

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by SteveDP
Review Date: 1/20/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $419.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, IQ Color, Low Light Focus Speed, Build Quality, Weight, Size, Price, 6 Year Warranty
Cons: No Red Ring (LOL!)

I had been considering to purchase this lens for a while. After reading hundreds of professional and users reviews, I still couldn't make up my mind. I don't want to spend $1000 for non-L EF-S lens. At the end, I realized that I really got nothing to loose if I just buy this lens because of Tamron's excellent warranty program and service. The performance of this lens actually far exceeded my expectation. The build quality was close to my Nikon and Olympus lenses. The sharpness, IQ and focus speed are better than my Zuiko 14-54mm. I use it for landscape, indoor kids shots and portraits etc. It is also an excellent macro lens and take fantastic closeup pictures.
hobbit

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 5
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by hobbit
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $508.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, Fast, Well built...
Cons: None - so far

I recently bought this lens to replace kit lens for Rebel XT. The image quality is higher than with 18-55 even when you do it on 17 f/2.8. The noise amount at high ISO 800 - 1600 seems to be reduced comparatively to 18-55.
Build seems to be better as well.
Light falloff is present at 17 f/2.8 but generally you have to look for it to see it.
So far I had no problems with the lens.
Note that the price mentioned is in Canadian $ and it was bought in Calgary. The lens was made in China, which disappointed me at first but...It looks like it is working well and I have 6 years warranty Smile
ealatsis

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by ealatsis
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: low light specialist
Cons: expensive for some, but better value.

No complaints regarding this lens. I shoot with a D80; and also have a 50mm and 70-200 VR. They all focus extremely well in low light. I also think it is built well.
jlam

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by jlam
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $422.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: f/2.8, light weight, shape, fast focus, 17mm on wide end
Cons: Blue fringing, zoom ring rotates opposite to Canon’s, ends at 50mm

I’ve had this lens since X’mas 2006. Because of the large aperture, I was able to photograph my toddler kids indoor without flash – something that I struggled much more previously with my Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS.


Having mentioned that, I do miss the IS capability. Large aperture doesn’t make up for IS, or vice versa. You just have to keep different things in mind when you shoot your subjects.


I’ve noticed strong blue fringing (at the edge of overexposed areas) roughly 1/4 radius from the center. This is surprising to me because I always thought that this would happen further away from the center.


I also tend to turn the zoom ring the wrong way. I don’t find myself getting used to it any time soon.


I was considering Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 as my primary lens. It is not quite wide enough for indoor but the Tamron is not long enough to be a walkaround lens outdoor. I only wish that there were such a lens as 18-70mm f/2.8 out there.
silverbluemx

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 16
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by silverbluemx
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, a bit wider than 18mm, light and small
Cons: Some AF problems.

I had the occasion of testing this lens in a store on my EOS 300D.
I found that the maximum aperture setting is very usable, quite sharp on the whole focal range.
Also the 17mm position on this lens is really a little wider than the 18mm on my Sigma 18-125, it is not a fake spec.
I only think that it could be a little longer, maybe up to 70mm, but it would certainly lose another advantage : this lens is quite small and light.
Build quality is good, not top level but quite high given the price and specs.
The only drawback : AF. It is a little slow (nothing dramatic), but too noisy for me. I also experienced some hunting even in good light (maybe a problem with my 300D only?)
Finally, I think that it is a very good choice for those who want to replace their kit lens with the same focal range but a lot better IQ without spending a lot of money.
helper94

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by helper94
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $339.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, great contrast, fast, relatively compact
Cons: Build is not as good as Canon L

After agonizing between this lens and the Canon 17-40L, I decided to go for this one for my Rebel Xti to replace my kit lens, primarily because of its speed advantage and smaller size. I don't intend to take the lens to extremes, so the slightly-less-solid build did not matter as much to me. Bought it new at MAP Camera in Shinjuku in Tokyo. By paying 5% more than the list price, they gave me a three year in-store warranty. I was a little disappointed to see they were selling the "assembled in China" version, and not the "made in Japan" version, so I had some concerns about having the back focusing or front focusing problems that others have talked about.


However, after using it, I have no complaints. At 50mm, the picture is as sharp to my eye as my EF-S 60mm 2.8, which actually makes me think about returning the EF-S due to redundancy. The 17mm has some barrel distortion, but nothing that can't be corrected by software - it's also great to be able to get a full picture of my 1 year old son in his car seat, with me sitting right next to him in the car!


It's a little bigger in size than the kit 18-55 lens, but seemed a lot smaller than the 17-40L - the Tamron on my Xti fits snugly but easily into the Canon digital hard case.


No complaints so far.
ohcello

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by ohcello
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $429.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution for the price... amazing
Cons: Field Curvature for landscape shots

Very sharp, even wide open.... this could replace a prime if needed. Great for portraits at 50mm x 1.6, etc.


The Field Curvature problem when attempting to focus on a 'flat' landscape shot.... you might notice blurring at the edges.... your only recourse is to stop down unless you have already!


But other than that.... best resolution in a zoom I've seen under $500
jdf

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by jdf
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have used this lens on eos 30D. it did impressed much as it is very sharp! At 2.8 it's very good, but from there and up it's amazing.
At 2.8 you can find a little CA, after this it's gone Smile


One thing that was not so good was it's AF, it's a bit noisy and not very precise, especially in a 2.8 lens where this is crucial :S


Well I have done a little test my self wich you can find it here:


At 17 MM


http://i.pbase.com/o4/74/700874/1/66335718.dJ0J1Ixr.TESTETAMRON_17.50_17MM.jpg



At 50 MM


http://i.pbase.com/o4/74/700874/1/66336022.e1UDt1mk.TESTETAMRON_17.50_50MM.jpg
bfischer

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by bfischer
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: outstanding optics, cheap, small, light
Cons: poor mechanics, AF problems

I tried the Nikon version of this lens to check if it could replace my large and heavy Nikkor 17-55/2.8. Weight and size is what bothers me most with the Nikkor. This is no issue with this Tamron.


Optically it really is almost as good as the Nikkor. At f/5.6 and f/8 it may be even slightly sharper in the center. Corners are a little behind the Nikkor, but not much. Shooting contrasty scenes you may get in trouble with CA and purple fringing.


The lens has screwdriver type AF and obviously the same sloppy AF mechanics as the Tamron 28-75/2.8. The lens has severe auto focus problems, which often ruins image sharpness completely.


If Tamron could manage to build an AF-S type ultra sonic motor into this lens and compensate the AF offset errors it probably would be the best APS-C standard zoom under 1000$ for a bargain price.
adobo

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 17
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by adobo
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: *Great IQ for Price, One of the Sharpest Lens
Cons: *Zoom turns the other way..

First of all..


How can third-party lens makers construct this small (compared to Canon's 17-55 2.8 -- with allowance for IS) and still produce good quality pics?!


Hmm.. anyway, compared to other similar lenses (Sigma 18-50, and Canon 17-55 IS) this is best when you the price is important to you


First comparing this to the Canon..
It doesnt look as nice (heh!)
It doesnt have IS
Zoom ring turns the other way
But it is smaller!
And sharper!
And most importantly CHEAPER!


Now compared to Sigma, I would still prefer this lens (although I haven't tried the new Macro revision)
Because it has more consistent quality (left vs. right)
But the Sigma turns similarly to Canon lenses


A good buy if you ask me..
snnamagh

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by snnamagh
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp @f2.8, good price for the quality
Cons: front focus, a little bit dark

I have been owned this lens for almost a month and using it for a Canon Rebel XT.


PROS:
What I like about that it is quite useful@ f2.8 throughout the 17mm to 50mm.
IT IS sharp at f2.8 and the best sharpness can be reached @ f5.6 for my copy.
Also I had a chance to have Sigma 18-50 DC EX f2.8 (not macro one) for a week.
I compared them through different tests: Overall, I liked the tamron more.
Why:
The tamron had a better control over the distortion and vignetting even at widest angel and better sharpness at borders.
However at center over different focal length it is hard sometimes to say which one is better.
Also, I got a bit better (shallower) DOF for the tamron and as it supposed to be, the better BOKEH was more recognizable at f2.8 and 50mm setting for the tamron copy.
.(But in terms of sharpness the tamron not really performed better than the sigma while the focus was the centre subject).


CONS:
my tamron copy tends to front focus a bit.(not still a big issue on that, but recognizable specially when I compared to my Canon 50mm f1.8 through the test).
And, the tamron tends to produce a little bit darker image compared to the sigma and canon lens kit EFS 18-55. (exactly at the same aperture and shutter speed setting)
At last, the tamron was noisier. But, not really noticeable yet when I am walking around with it.

Note:
Although I ordered mine from a retailer in Japan but it is marked assembled in China on the body of the lens. I checked another copy from a local retailer (Ottawa-Canada)
and it was marked assembled in China as well. So, not really sure yet if there is any difference in quality between those marked clearly "made in Japan" and those
marked as"assembled in China from Chinese and Japanese parts"
moeman

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by moeman
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very nice pics, super fast AF w/ my a-100
Cons: no significant cons

Meets all my expectations--highly recommended. AF is SUPER FAST w/ my Sony A-100 even at low-light. Image quality is superb. A little noisy (sound).


Pretty darn good wide open and since the DOF of a prime 50 at 1.4 or 1.7 is so small I think I'll past on a prime in this lens' zoom range. Stopped down even to 3.5 it's very sharp.


I wonder if its possible for a zoom to add a little to the tele end and keep all the other qualities this lens has...That would be my only dream improvement.
Arthas

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by Arthas
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $490.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp even at f/2.8, improves quickly one and two stops down
Cons: Focus not as fast as USM, buzzing noise when focusing,no full-time manual focus or IS

I bought this lens with a new 30D as a general use walkaround and for people shots. I've been ver impressed with it so far as there is excellent detail in the centre even at f/2.8 iso 1600 in challenging lighting conditions.


Sharpness does improve quite a bit when stopped down, I find for group shots f/5.0 gives good results.


On the downside, the distortion at the wide angle (17mm) is fairly dramatic at the edge of the frame. It's not too hard to correct in processing, but I find myself framing shots so that no-one's face is close to the edge when at 17mm which reduces the effective range a bit. However, it's good to have it for those times when you absolutely have to go wide.


Some posters commented on the loud focus noise and speed. While it's not as fast or smooth to focus as my 85 1.8, it's perfectly acceptable for general use and I haven't missed any shots because of it, in fact I've caught a fair few reaction shots at events. It wouldn't be ideal for sports but then a 17-50 f/2.8 zoom isn't a sport shooter's chocie anyway.


There is a buzzing noise when focusing but it's not that loud. It's no more disturbing than the 30D's shutter anyway.


Overall, I'm very happy with the lens!
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp
Cons: None

This lens is an excellent choice for a "walk-around" f/2.8 zoom. Image quality is superb, and images are very sharp, even wide open. It is a great low-cost alternative to the Canon 17-55.
logogogue

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by logogogue
Review Date: 12/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent quality, fast focus, good construction, zoom lock, very inexpensive.
Cons: noisy - no HSM, reverse zoom twist from Canon lens.

Very good lens overall. I find it to be very flexible at most aperatures. I tend to use it most often below f4 and I have not been disappointed with image quality. I find the reverse twist of the zoom ring a bit annoying since I am used to the Canon lenses. Although the lens does focus quickly, it is pretty loud and it seems slower than it really is. I find low-light hand-held shots to be very capable. You could spend double on the Canon version but why? Highly recommend this lens.
CharleyS

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by CharleyS
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $449.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f/2.8 through out gives this lens great low light capabilities. Sharp images. Compact design.
Cons: None so far

I've read about Tamron's QC problems with this lens and I debated a long time about buying one, but all I can say is this is one GREAT lens!!!!
I took about 100 test shots to try and find any of the problems I had read about, but I honestly can't find a single complaint.


The only time this lens now comes off my D80 is when I need more zoom.


This is the highest quality lens I own, so I don't have a "heavier" lens to compare it to, but the build quality to me is quite good. I could tell when I first picked it up that it is much more lens than the 18-55 nikkor kit lens it is replacing.


If you are looking for a mid range zoom with great low light capabilities, I would highly recommend this lens. At this price point, this lens is a steal.
amelo14

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by amelo14
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp image quality, bargain price, weight, Tamron warranty.
Cons: no IS, no USM, no “L” build, some copies seem to front-focus.

This lens is simply a joy to use. Tamron has managed to continue the amazing quality of its famous 28-75, making it now available for the 1.6x sensors. Even at 2.8 it is quite sharp throughout the whole range. Being 2.8, it competes well with IS alternatives which cost almost twice and cannot really be used for stopping action. The build quality is not the greatest, but it is not bad either. Low-light can be a bit tricky for the AF system, but once again it is really above-average. Its weight and size allow you to take other lenses with you, which increases your chance of making different types of images.


Bottom line, an excellent lens at a bargain price which will save you the money required to get others lenses which will allow you to explore other photographic possibilities. For the price of one 17-55 IS USM, you can get this lens, the excellent Canon 85 1.8, and finally, either a 35 2.0, or a 50 1.8 MK1. This will surely open up you creative possibilities.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, value for money
Cons: colors lack "pop", looks "third party-ish"

For it's price, this lens holds it own against Canon's 17-55/2.8 - really a great value-for-money lens.


It lacks great color off the camera, but with some PP, it can deliver.


Construction quality if above average, but if it matters to you, the lens just "looks" very third-party-ish. I know it's superficial, but sometimes you just want a nice solid feel and LOOK when you buy a quality product. Tamron couls sell more of these if they just made it look more "pro looking", I think.
SamuelMV

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by SamuelMV
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $530.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, IQ, price, fast
Cons: AF, it's fast and accurate, but a little bit noisy and no FTM

I have this lens for Canon mount and I can compare it with my Canon 28-135 IS USM.


First, its IQ is much better than the 28-135, and I have wide angle again, and 2.8!!! (you really need to stop down the canon to f/8).


The Tamron AF is as fast and accurate as the Canon 28-135, the only downside is a little bit of noise (I can live with that), and no Full Time Manual (just switch to MF).


Image Stabilization is nice, but it doesn't stop motion, so I prefer fast aperture (with good IQ), over IS in a wide angle lens (for a tele: no IS -> no way)


Ok, you can get the Canon 17-55 2.8 IS, and have both, but it's much bigger, heavier, more expensive ... and the IQ is more or less the same (if you really need exceptional IQ, get a good prime). $1300: too much for an AF-S lens that I'm going to sell when I go full frame ;-)


Finally, the zoom ring rotates in opposite direction to Canon (it's like Nikon's). No big deal, although it's annoying.
keegan

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by keegan
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Affordability, size
Cons: sharpness wide open

Excellent solution to not being able to afford the Nikon 17-55. Sharper than my Nikon 18-200VR at F4-F11, better contrast too. At 2.8 the lens softens a little, and that is the $1000 difference between this lens and the 17-55. Also, this lens weighs significantly less than the Nikon equivalent, making it a much better walk-around and all-day use lens. Awesome value. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting a fast standard zoom.
duffer18

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by duffer18
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great quality at a resonable price
Cons: Weird base cap and cheap hood 5 mm less zoom then the nikor

Need a mid level zoom with low light abilities? Well if you are not made of money or don't want to lug around a few more pounds compare this lens to the Nikor.


Tamron vs Nikor stacks up like this.
Tamron is the super model weight wise. More space for other things like a blue/gold polarizer or other goodies.
Tamron is only a 17 - 50 vs the 17 - 55 in the Nikor. So you loose a few mm.
Tamron delivers great quality shots, so good this has become my new walking around lens.


I say give this lens a try. You might really like what you find...
id

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by id
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, f2.8, image quality
Cons: A bit noisy

You get a lot of lens for your money.


The image quality is great!
However, make sure you get a good copy, since there might be some quality issues with this lens. But don't let that hold you back, just make sure it's a good copy and you are fine.
jemaerca

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by jemaerca
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Constant f/2.8 aperture, sharp images, nice build quality, compact size and light weight
Cons: Build quality compared to Nikon's tank like build quality, flimsy hood, works with DX sized sensor only

PROS: Constant f/2.8 aperture, sharp images, nice build quality, compact size and light weight


CONS: Build quality compared to Nikon's tank like build quality, flimsy hood, works with DX sized sensor only


As I looked for a fast midrange zoom, I was initially drawn to the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 lens. But the $1,200 price made me look at some alterntives and I'm glad I did. The Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 is about 1/3 the price of the Nikkor and most of the reviews you will find will say that performance is right there with the Nikkor. My experience so far supports these reviews. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind spending the $$ for quality optics but I need to see the benefit of the extra investment. In this case, it just wasn't there enough to justify spending an extra $800 for a Nikkor. The only reason I can think of to choose the Nikkor over the Tamron is if you are rough on your equipment. The build quality of the Tamron 17-50mm is first rate but isn't like the tank like build of the Nikkor. If you need that build quality, go for the Nikkor. If you don't, you'll be happy with the Tamron 17-50mm and will have $800 in your pocket to buy some other lens. Cheers!
Karl777

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by Karl777
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ultrasharp, leightweight, fastfocus
Cons:

When i decided to buy a DSLR my focus was on the quality of the lens. I searched for reviews for the Nikon Lenses Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G and Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G but both lenses were not fast and the Image Quality was not outstanding at all.


I searched for alternatives and found this lens. When i shared the first photos with my nikon colleagues they all were amazed about the image quality and so i;


To get good picture qulality you can start fro m step 2.8; in tests vignetting described high but as far i had no problems with it.
Focusing is fast and i did not recognize noise; But this may be different to your demands making silent exposures.


A great thing is the macro capability with this lense. It's not a full macro but compared to the competitors it's top!


The fast lens gives you ability even at low light to shot pictures without or with a litte bit flash support. Flashed pictures tends to overexposure at 2.8 -4.0. i usually reduced my built in flash with -1 step and get great results;


Build quality is ok. A full metal would even give more trust in build quality.


Highly recommended
Karl
nohm

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by nohm
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

The poor man's 17-55 Canon/Nikon equivalent lens.


I didn't mind while I owned it. :D


The image quality is barely any different than my new 17-55, if not slightly better on the wide end.



For those of you sulking in depression over not being able to afford those expensive pro line lens, wake up. This lens is more than qualified to fullfill your needs at a much cheaper price.
drwho9437

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by drwho9437
Review Date: 11/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $430.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price for 2.8, compact, good performance
Cons: Focusing mech

When I dumped my 300D for a 400D I didn't get the kit knowing this lens was out there.


I have only had it for a short time, but here is what I can tell you to date. First off the most annoying thing about the lens is the focusing mechanism. The throw in the ring is tiny about a 1/4 turn. Some fellow said he MF with it, I should think that rather hard to do. The AF motor is very loud for a lens of its era.


Other than that the build is fine. You get a hood and a nice center pinch cap.


As for performance, I haven't noticed any large issues. It seems to get the job done. Having 2.8 across the range is very nice. When you don't have this you often end up shooting at wide and wide open in low light and cropping.


All in all it probably lives up to its billing.
Jarrad_Kevin

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by Jarrad_Kevin
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very useful zoom range, Light and Compact for a 2.8 zoom, Good Image Quality
Cons: Noisy AF Motor, Pronounced barrel distortion @ 17mm, Colour Fringing, Lack of Full Time Manual.

I own the Canon EOS mount version of this Lens.


Like most 2.8 lenses this one is sharpest at 5.6. It's usable wide open, but really does benefit from stopping down. It's also sharpest at it's long end. It's not quite 50mm. I'd guess closer to 47-48mm.
Center resolution is very good all throughout the zoom range. Edges do soften on the very wide end, but I've seen far worse. It's nothing to worry about.
Chromatic Aberrations are noticeable on the wide end.


It feels good in use, not lacking in build quality, but certainly nothing like the Canon L-series. I like it's small size and light weight.


The Auto Focus motor is quite loud and annoying. A wasp in a matchbox, as they say. I usually use this lens in Manual focus anyway, so it doesn't matter to me. The AF accuracy and speed is fine. I wouldn't use it for fast paced sports, but it'll probably handle most situations very well.


Very high value for the money.
sduford

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 9
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by sduford
Review Date: 8/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build quality, very sharp, small, excellent value
Cons: No HSM type autofocus, very short focus throw.

I think this lens offers killer value. It's image quality rivals the Nikkor 17-55mm F/2.8 and this at a third of the price and half the size.


Build quality is excellent for the price and image quality really surprised me. This lens has excellent image quality even wide open. Contrast and colour rendition are top notch. I'm very happy with what I got for the money with lens. It has quickly become one of my favourites.


I only wish ti would go a little longer, like 60 or 70mm.
fabio777

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 3
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by fabio777
Review Date: 7/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent resolution, small dimension for f2,8 lens.
Cons: fucus ring turn with focusing motor

Excellent, probably the best therd party lens you should use with aps-c sensor. Only Canon EFS 18-55 f 2,8 IS USM is better of this lens but price is triple.
Page:  1 · 2 


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.