SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
50 216192 5/29/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
98% of reviewers $619.24
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.63
spacerspacer
9.43
1EF70-200f4a.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm L USM Tested


nestos

Registered: May 2014
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by nestos
Review Date: 5/29/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, build quality
Cons: slow AF

In action (sports) photography, AF seems a bit slow, sometimes out of focus when shooting in burst modus (Canon 7D)
lomenak

Registered: August 2013
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by lomenak
Review Date: 8/28/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great IQ and build, lightweight for its category
Cons: lack of IS with those focal lengths, but you can get the IS version if this is a concern

Another great lens from Canon. I have loved this lens very much when using in tripod, unfortunately cannot use those focal lengths without IS.
marp

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by marp
Review Date: 7/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, sharpness, build quality, size
Cons: none

This is my first "L" lens and I really like it. The images are sharp, the auto focusing is fast. The build quality is superb.
I love the look of the pictures the lens makes, the contrast and the nice bokeh.


I chose this one over the f/2.8 mostly because of the size. It is not very heavy. Also the smaller size is an advantage, if you travel a lot like me.


If you wish, have a look at some pictures taken with this lens in this set on my flickr. all were take with my Canon EOS 7D.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinpilat/sets/72157630843357626/
JeanP

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by JeanP
Review Date: 8/20/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: L-optics, lightweight
Cons: none

This is indeed a very nice portraitlens on my 400D. Use this lens on f4 and further up to f14 and your results will be nice and with good contrast.
I had to send my lens with my 400D to a service point for calibration.My copy had focusproblems (also on a new 7D at the shop)
After this calibration (lens is paired with camera) my pictures are very sharp and nice.
This calibration is a well known (at least at the servicecenter) issue and is carried out under warranty.



I am very satisfied with this level of Canonservice.
kaci

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by kaci
Review Date: 4/15/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $670.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: center sharpness, colours, contrast, AF, price, size
Cons: corner sharpness, focal length 200mm

My review is based on using this lens on full-frame camera = 5d. Center sharpness is amazing at f4 - f5.6 from 70mm to 140mm, but corners are really soft. At 200mm overall sharpness is quite weak. Colours, contrast and bokeh are wonderfull, the AF great.


I prefer using my 85/1.8 and 135/2L but sometimes the zoom is needed. For its price I find it really worthy lens.
barbaranne423

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by barbaranne423
Review Date: 5/22/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $640.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Clarity, weight, color rendering, silet auto focus
Cons: none

I have owned this les for a month or so and LOVE it! Color redition is fabulous; clarity is superb but; after all, it is an L lens.
The silence of the auto focus is really nice. I like the way the lens looks and handles.
I have nothing but praise for this lens.
jt354

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 9
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by jt354
Review Date: 5/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness at wide end, color reproduction, lightweight, build quality
Cons: 200mm softness, poor AF performance

Judging by the reviews on this site, I'm assuming my copy to be an anomaly. I bought a gently-used 2004 70-200mm f/4L and have been fairly unimpressed. AF performance is terrible, with severe backfocus on all images. The lens is sharp from 70mm-135mm wide open, but is very soft at 200mm. The build quality is excellent, metal barrel and internals with smooth focus and zoom rings. Furthermore, the lens is lightweight for the focal range. Unfortunately, none of this can justify the issues my copy has at the most frequently used focal length.


Edit: I recently exchanged my lens for a new copy which is sharper at 200mm and autofocuses much more accurately. The lens still remains just a bit soft at the long end compared to Canon's prime offerings, the 200mm f/2.8 II and the 200mm f/2. But it's certainly a versatile lens, and an excellent choice for travel and backpacking. I wouldn't hesitate to use it with the Canon Extender 1.4x.
Nikoboyd

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by Nikoboyd
Review Date: 3/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Decent optics, superb construction, Light weight, Lightning fast focusing speed
Cons: White color (I prefer black lens barrel)

Use this lens for 9 months. I can't complain anything. This thing is too good. If you want a 70-XXX telephoto, it is a no brainer.
MrAdventure

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by MrAdventure
Review Date: 10/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid build, light, sharp wide open, fast AF
Cons: still trying to find something to gripe about

This lens is awesome.


I hear lot's of grumbling about theslow aperture being f/4. It's never limited me in anyway, in fact with the new hi-iso bodies, it's a moot point in many cases. I shoot portraits, products, landscape and wildlife with this lens and wow.


Sharp wide open and right across the frame from edge to edge. Color and contrast are stunning...I smile whenever I pixel peep.
Barry

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by Barry
Review Date: 9/27/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $640.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent lens - nothing else compares!
Cons: None

Rented this lens as I want to buy this one. I use a tripod so IS is not required. In SA we have too much light, so f/4 is perfect. What I don't get is that the cons listed for this lens i.e. aperture, IS are available on other iterations of this lens, so don't list these as cons! Canon has addressed these supposed cons with other versions, so if you have a problem, buy the more expensive lens. Thanks, Canon, for making this amazing lens available to all owners with differing budgets.
What I did find is that this lens offers brilliant, sharp shots across the zoom range, easily equivalent to the prime at the similar range. Having this is the same as having 3 or 4 primes.
Brilliant lens, Canon - no other lens compares!
Just received mine (used). ZAR5000. And it is incredible!
(I still use my 85mm f/1.8 for portraits for the creamy bokeh.)
teybartolome

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by teybartolome
Review Date: 4/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $521.50| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USM, light weight, L
Cons: f/4: not too good in low light but can be compensated using flash. :D

You usually get for what you pay. This time, you get more. :D


Pros: Fast focusing, awesome IQ, awesome bokeh even at f/4, super sharp.


Cons: The widest aperture is f/4 but it's not a hindrance to take good amazing photos. :D It's still an L and you know what that means. :D
mike051051

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by mike051051
Review Date: 4/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $610.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very rapid focus, smooth zoom and focus rings, very sharp at all apertures and focal lengths, good weight and balance, effective lens hood
Cons: haven't found any yet

Bought this lens last year prior to a week's vacation on which it performed superbly. It's become one of my favorite lenses. Used it today indoors for candids of the grand kids.
It just never fails to satisfy. I can use it in situations where I wouldn't have thought to use a 200mm lens before, thanks to the constant f/4.0 aperture and the way it balances so nicely on a 40D.
The contrast, sharpness, clarity and background blur of this lens is definitely first rate. The only problem is that it's sort of spoiled me for anything other than an L lens.
wrongnumber

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by wrongnumber
Review Date: 3/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, solidly built, usm
Cons: big, obvious

It's a great lens, excellent focus, use a tripod for longer lengths / longer exposure combinations. I don't have any complaints good price for the lens and great reach on a crop body sensor (XSI), I wish it were shorter or black. I will upgrade to the IS version at some point.
wowwy91801

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by wowwy91801
Review Date: 9/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, quick focus even in very low indoor lighting, white colored, pro quality, zoom does not extend.
Cons: Large lens hood, minor difference between 135mm and 200mm range.

After reading much reviews about Canon's quality control is lacking and buyers eventually returning their new purchase for calibration, I bought this one used.


I tested this lens in really low indoor lighting and the focus is amazing. Never thought this lens was able to focus at a specific spot where I was aiming at. This was attached to my 30D. The image quality is superb. Even though this lens has a max of f/4, I was able to get really sharp images hand held under indoor lighting.


I don't think the white color is a con, like other users think, because it does appear to give the impression that it is a pro quality build. I do think that the lens hood is ridiculously large and takes up too much space in my bag.


If I get the money, I'll spring for the 70-200L F2.8 IS. But in the meantime, this lens will definitely meet my expectations. At $500-$600 retail, I think it's a steal.


For those who don't need the 2.8 or IS or don't have the money, get this one instead. This is one satisfying lens for sure.
levicki

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by levicki
Review Date: 9/11/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $920.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

After my bad experience with Sigma 24-70mm F/2.8 EX DG I gave up on chasing a good copy -- I just bought this lens instead and it is fantastic. No cons, just pros! Sharp on both ends, ultra fast and accurate focusing, silent, well balanced with my 40D. For below the 70mm I will get some prime or a cheaper 17-70mm lens and be done with it.
that_fox

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by that_fox
Review Date: 2/16/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ, cheap, great build quality, got my best shot ever with this lens
Cons: A bit short for what I do (wildlife), no tripod ring, ƒ/4

I purchased this lens months ago and since then have been rewarded with many great images with it. The image quality is unmatched, superbly sharp even at 200mm. I got one spectacular shot with this lens that has received thousands upon thousands of positive remarks. That shot wouldn't have had the same great praise with anything less than the great IQ of this lens.


I do wish that this lens came with a tripod ring however. I find that this lens causes the camera to not be rock steady on a tripod when using the camera's tripod mount. I also wish that this lens was ƒ/2.8, but at this price I can't complain at all. I very highly recommend this lens, but beware it will get you addicted the L lenses.
f43tgv

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 16
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by f43tgv
Review Date: 2/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, quality
Cons: F4

This is another real bargain! I have used both the 70-200 2.8 and this lens, a copy of which I now own. The image quality is indistinguishable
.
If you dont need the 2.8, buy this. Its lighter, easier to handhold, and sooo much easier to carry around all day.


The test of this lens is spot on, you get so much more than the lowly ( well by canon L lens prices anyway) purchase price may suggest.


I have not found it too slow in general use, nor have i ever thought that the addition of IS on its more recent sister lens is worth the significant price difference.


The quality of the results is so good that increasing the ISO setting in poor light doesnt make you pay too much in terms of picture quality.


If you are a pro, buy the 2.8, or the F4 IS, otherwise save your money and enjoy this superb lens.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 10/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact size and weight. Very good results...sharp and good color.
Cons: Not as fast as the 2.8 and hand-held at 200mm is sometimes hit or miss.

This is an excellent entry level zoom to the Canon "L" class. I've only been shooting DSLR for about 6 months and I really like this lens. I have sample shots taken with my Canon 30D with this lens here: Canon EF 70-200 f/4 L USM Lens Photo Samples


-Lex
carskick

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by carskick
Review Date: 10/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, color, fast accurate AF, great build
Cons: The IS version costs twice as much

For Canon's cheapest L lens, it is astonishing in just about every category. It's not really heavy, it has good range, descent MFD, and awesome image quality. That really about sums it up.


To be nit picky, I would like a closer MFD, maybe 0.7 meters instead of 1.2m would be great for near macro shots, or more versatility at the lens' wider end. Also, I wish the IS version were not twice the price of this lens. For sports, I wish I had the F2.8 version, but F4 is fine for almost every other application.
ghost

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by ghost
Review Date: 9/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $549.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast AF, Sexy white lens, Great price for an L
Cons: Too prominent white lens barrel, F4 is not the fastest, would prefer longer reach

Initially I wasn't sure what's with the hype of this lens. Lots of photogs love it. I used it a few times and didn't see the hoopla. Then one day BH had a sale simultaneously with Canon's rebates, so I picked one up thinking if I didn't like it I can always sell it. L lens keep their value.
After shooting it here and there I was blown away at how sharp the images turned out in RAW. My 30d was set to 0 on all settings. Colours and contrast were spot on. I do enjoy using this lens more and more. I do wish sometimes it had a longer reach. Great lens and sure to become a legend in the Canon lens history.
the_photo_nut

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by the_photo_nut
Review Date: 1/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent quality, build, IQ and price.
Cons: none

Just absolutely the best bargain lens Canon has ever produced. For the price, you are getting an "L" lens with all the "L" quality and build. Lens produces awesome IQ, color and contrast. With good lighting, you cannon beat the pics this lens produces. On my 30D body this lens is so sharp than the pics jump out at you. The detail is fantastic. I had to do very little post processing on them. Highly recommended lens to all Canon users. Enjoy !!!
noksukau

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by noksukau
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolute stunner, very portable, looks superb and shots to match
Cons: Only what it says on the tin, will give you a taste for more

Just a quickie, as there's not much left to say! It really is as great as everyone says and I still feel a tinge of excitement everytime I mount this on my camera.


Focus is sensational, you can pluck birds from the sky with ease and the snappy zoom ring takes plenty of abuse and allows you to go end-to-end with a quick snick of the wrist. The lens also hangs very nicely on all the bodies I've tried it on, feeling like a dangling weapon, always ready to fire.


That said, beware! Once you see what it can do it will give you an itch for more of what it offers and will frustrate you that you can't use your favourite lens all the time. 200mm on a cropped sensor and no IS means this lens goes to bed before your kids do. If I had to do this all over again I'd get the new IS version. As it is the vanilla f/4 holds its value remarkably well and with high build quality is a safe second hand buy. You can practically rent it until you can afford the IS version and have a load of photographic fun in the meantime.


Ben.
fergusonjr

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 15
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by fergusonjr
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $570.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low Price. Superb Image quality. Excellent Sharpness
Cons: Not for low light (f/4)

Wow, wow, and wow! Quick, buy one of these before Canon realizes they're undercharging for them! This is a really really great lens, and an incredible bargain. In fact, the very fact that you're getting a bargain makes the images seem so much nicer!


This lens makes some of the nicest images I've ever seen. It's obvious just by looking through the viewfinder that you're getting a better picture coming through. The sharpness and brilliant colors are amazing. The lens itself is a pleasure to use, with its super quiet and fast autofocus, FTM focusing, and solid, substantial build-quality. I like the fact that the lens stays the same length when zooming, and despite all the glass, it's relatively light . . . lighter than the 24-70 f/2.8 anyway.


This is a remarkable lens. IS would be nice, but this is more of good-light, outdoor lens anyway, so I haven't found myself wanting. Certainly, if you're going to be shooting indoors a lot, the f/2.8 lens is a better choice, but it also costs twice as much. For most uses, this f/4 lens does amazing work.
MJG

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by MJG
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $660.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, versatile range, L punch
Cons: None

This is the cheapest L lens, and there is actually one big Con: It will get you hooked on the L line. I had the very fine 70-210, but that extra notch that the 70-200L has is difficult to describe, but very noticable.


Image and build quality are excellent, and so is AF speed and accuracy. The zoom is ring type, and as such there is no danger of creeping (the 70-210 does creep). The range is versatile, especially on 1.6 crop where it amounts to 100-320. Also, this lens goes very well with the 1.4 extender, at least in good light conditions.


Note: price is converted from EUR, after special rebate
jdf

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by jdf
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $840.93| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Built quality! Fast autofocus
Cons: No tripod ring

I have bought this lens in September, i the beginning i didn't like it much but after a few days on the field i looked to be much better than i had hopped.


I have used it on 1.6 crop body. The image is very sharp wide open from F.4.0 to f9.0 at 70mm or 200mm. So it's harmonic. Even with a 1.4 Kenko TC it gaved me great results. One of my best lenses.


The AF is very fast and precise, and you can manual overide it's AF. Zoom rings are also smooth.


One thing i have noticed is its colors, are very vibrant and contrasty.
djmccorm

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by djmccorm
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, superb image quality, reasonable cost.
Cons: f/4 aperture and lack of IS

This was my first L lens with my Rebel XT. It is simply a phenomenal lens. The images are razor sharp and the colors simply amazing. Occasionally I wish for f/2.8 or IS, but with high ISO I usually still get the shots I want. Even if I got the f/2.8 I would keep this lens because it is so much lighter. Definitely a fantastic lifetime investment. Never buy a lens that you wouldn't keep forever!
amelo14

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by amelo14
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $630.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning Image Quality, Beautiful lightweight design, fast USM, L-Build, WOW factor, low COST.
Cons: Really NONE; but one could mention aperture, expensive tripod ring and no IS.

I only own 1 L-lens, the 70-200 f4. The first time I handheld it I could not believe how lightweight it was. And when I looked into the viewfinder, really, I could not believe the beautiful image created. In short, if you only have funds for one L lens, then this is a serious candidate. Overall you get much more than you pay for and perhaps you just have to learn to seek those opportunities when this lens shines, that is, bright days and outdoors.


If you are worried about the expensive canon tripod ring, there is another, less expensive option by ROXSEN, mentioned at: http://www.pbase.com/lightrules/image/70883547
ne1rom

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by ne1rom
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp from wide open, relatively light
Cons: non-IS

Nothing much to say - it's almost perfect in any way of testing. Cant find some cons... maybe IS-version will be even better.


So my opinion, if you dont want to pay much more for 70-200/2.8L IS - the lens is your choice. It has no visible flaws.


Highly recommended for APS-C or FF!
amolas

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by amolas
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Build quality, constant aperture, internal focusing
Cons: none

Very sharp, low distortion, color repected. This is one of my favorite lens !
It quality is near a prime lens !


If you are looking for a 70-200 lens, this one is for you !
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp wide open, light weight, great value
Cons: None

This is the perfect lens for anyone looking for a relatively light weight telephoto lens with superb image quality. This lens is super sharp wide open and does very well with a 1.4 teleconverter. It is one of Canon's best values in an L lens.
boysennumba5

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by boysennumba5
Review Date: 12/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cost, weight/quality, image quality
Cons: aperture

This lens is primarily for anybody looking for a zoom lens with good image quality that is also affordable, with the abundance of consumer-quality 70/75-300mm range lenses, most of them really don't provide sufficient image quality for a serious photographer.


This is relatively inexpensive pro-quality lens that offers some major benefits: 1. is obviously the price while supplying great image quality. 2. Is the weight for a pro quality lens.


I recently took a backpacking trip in Colorado (1 week long, so every pound on your back adds up FAST), and this was one of the 2 lenses I took with. On a 20D (also a great camera to bring on these kind of things if you don't want the weight of a pro body), the lens provides sufficient reach for most any purposes except for extreme-range wildlife.


The only thing worth mentioning against it is that because of the slowish aperture (medium-fast for a consumer, but slow for a pro) or IS, the lens has limited use on very cloudy days, or during twilight without a tripod.


The build quality also seemed quite sufficient for me. I'm somewhat clumsy, and never baby my gear, so I've got nicks and scratches all over the barrel, and this lens has never failed me in an operational or image quality standpoint.


All around a great lens for anybody who wants good quality in a relatively light package.
caries

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by caries
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $520.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color
Cons: none

This is one of the most sucessful Canon lenses. For the price it sells for it provides great sharpness and beautiful color. Great on my D20.
photofanatic

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by photofanatic
Review Date: 12/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Clean colour, sharp, fast focus, non-extending barrel
Cons: none

I love this lens! It gives beautiful vibrant colour and sharpness across the full frame when paired with a 20D. Very fast and accurate focusing, even in low light. A joy to use!
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by mebailey
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $575.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This lens was my first non-kit lens. It is an exceptional value and gives incredible sharpness for a zoom. The focusing is fast and accurate. The lens itself is light and is not hard to carry all day. I use it for baseball games on a crop body which is just about perfect. It takes the 1.4TC well without much image degradation.
LAB

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by LAB
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality
Cons:

While I use this lens for a variety of outdoor photography situations with excellent results, my main need was for a high quality zoom lens to use for low-light theater photography. When I was shooting film with my Canon T-90 and a Tokina 70-200 f/2.8 lens (using an 80A filter to make the on camera color correction for daylight film) usually using Porta 800 or Extapress or similar with good results.
When I made the move to digital (Canon 5D) I ideally wanted a fast lens (f/2.8). However, this Canon f/4 lens works very well for low-light digitial theater photography. I shoot from a tripod during dress rehearsals. The ability to dial up the ISO "on the fly" as needed or using exposure compensation produces outstanding results under this situation.


Strongly recommmed this lens!
pixnat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by pixnat
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $745.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: superb lens : sharp, contrasty, fast focus, lightweight
Cons: white color

The best bang for the bucks!


I have this lens for one year now and I'm always impressed by the pics I get from it.


- Sharp at all focal lenght
- contrasty and beautiful colors
- smooth bokeh
- very fast focus
- compact, nice for travel
- superb build quality


I use it mainly for nature shots and potraits.
For taking pics in dim light condition, f/4 is a bit slow.


My only complaint : it's color. It screams "look at me!" Can be a problem when you want to take discrete pictures.
kirehe

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by kirehe
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, relatively fast, USM
Cons: large and white

Beautifully sharp, even wide open. Fast focusing due to USM. Comes with hood (as do all Ls), meaning you don't have to fork out an extra ~$40.


Only con: tends to draw 'pro' attention, which can be bad if you're try to be inconspiciuos.
Muiderburght

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by Muiderburght
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $570.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp!; good build; fine colors; light
Cons: long

You can read it everywhere on the intenet and I'll tell you again: this is Canon's best deal. This lens is so sharp it hurts your eyes. It's also the first lens that made me realize that a lens can influence the end colors of apicture. This one provides exceptionally bright colors (for lack of a better word). It is now available with IS too. Haven't tested that one though. Mostly an outdoor lens with high shutter speeds for me, I dont really have a need for the IS on this lens. If you want it for inside and portrait use, you'd probably first look at the f/2.8 (and then at the available IS on that one).
DOA

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by DOA
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Affordable, Beautiful boken, Quality build.
Cons: low light preformance

Love this lens, no comparsion to the 18-55kit lens from the Canon 30D. Sharpness right out to 100%, which we all want and deserve. Beautiful boken, love the 3D affect from this lens.


I would recommend a tripod or atleast a monopod to fully take advantage of it's capabilty. Most all poor shots come from camera shake, put this baby on a tripod with mirror lock up or timer and you will immediately see the difference.


I put the 1.4Canon extender on and could not notice any degradation of picture quality, sending a squirrel shot from this set up to a contest. This speaks for itself as to my recommendation of this fine lens.


D.O.Abolit
dccps

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 13
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by dccps
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $575.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Outstandingly sharp, flare well controlled, relatively light
Cons: slow aperture (f/4.0) is not ideal for some sports

This lens is an excellent choice for all but night shots at baseball or football games where an F/2.8 would be better. Otherwise images are outstanding with remarkable resolution and excellent color. With it's weight, I don't really know if IS would be a big add to the value of this optic... it's light and easily balances on a 20D.
henris

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by henris
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lightweight, great color
Cons: f/4 aperture is slow

I owned this lens and then sold it on ebay. It was good, but I just couldn't like it enough. I eventually got a 2.8 IS version and love it much more.


I would recommend this lens as a lightweight or traveling telephoto lens.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lightweight, excellent optics, build quality
Cons: none

One of the best bargains in "L" lenses and also the perfect long zoom for travelling due to its light weight.


This is a bargain L lens. You get great color and contrast, superb construction quality, and a constant aperture (plus internal zooming and focus).


Although it's not as fast as its f/2.8 variant, it's also almost a third of the price - a pretty good compromise!


If your lens collection consists of this, the 17-40L and a 50mm/1.4, you'd pretty much have all the pro quality you need at about $1600 - less than the price of one L/f2.8 zoom.
alesl

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by alesl
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpenss, contrast, color, buid quality
Cons:

Excellent lens!
pz

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by pz
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, sharp, low priced, L quality
Cons: no IS ;-) not as good for full frame

It was my first L lens. I loved it. Really. I used it with 10D, 20D, 5D. For 10D and 20D it was almost perfect. But for full frame it is - of course - less good. Using 5D at 70 mm its picture was always blurry or less sharp than I used with my old bodies. Once upon a time it was my best lens, but when I bought a 20-70 f/2.8 L I became think that I need a better telezoom, so I sold it for its new IS version. At the same time the IS also seemed to be a must for me.
hobbit

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by hobbit
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focusing, good image quality
Cons: Got a yellow limon and returned it

Well I got yellow lemon.
I was expecting to use this lens in moutains but it started giving me error 99 every second shot, so I had to switch to my old 18-55. This was very disappointing.


I returned it later to retailer. They checked it on a different body (30D) as they could not believe that such a lens can do such as thing. But it did same stuff on 30D. I was disappointed ( I lost quite a few shots) and decided not to exchange but just to return it.


When it worked it was giving excellent images. I liked everthing about it except QUALITY ASSURANCE!!!


I will not buy it again but possible will go with the IS version of it. It does make sense to spend some more money (if budget allows) on IS version as I find it very usefull on the telephoto range.
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $760.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, LightWeight, Excellent Build, Inner Focusing/Zooming, Suberb Value For Money
Cons: None so Far

This Lens show exactly how Lens in this price range, and far, should be.


Excellent build, very smooth control, and excellent image quality.


Highly recommended. Can't go wrong with this piece of equipment.
shayel

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by shayel
Review Date: 7/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good price, great sharpness, fast auto focus, internal focus and zoom.
Cons: f/4, too short zoom scale.

I bought this lens second handed.
The first thing I noticed was the fast auto focus.
The focus ring is buttery smooth, the zoom ring is a bit lighter (maybe a bit too light.... but it's not that bad)
It's only problam is the short zoom scale but u get used to it really fast..
Overall it's a great lens. U wouldn't regreat buying it!
softreq

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by softreq
Review Date: 10/28/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, reasonably contrasty, well priced.
Cons: I guess the F4 max aperture.

Nice light lens with excellent build quality.


Very sharp, reasonably contrasty.


Obviously an F2.8 max aperture would be better than the F4, but then it would be much more pricey if that were the case.


I think it's a very good lens for outdoor or general photography.
Anakin

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by Anakin
Review Date: 10/21/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp, light, construction, AF very fast
Cons: no IS , no collar ring

AF very good, image quality excellent, very sharp @ every focal lenght and aperture.


good for sports photos and reportage,


if you are in a sunny country , F4 is enough.
freddycam

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM review by freddycam
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very high quality, super sharp, nice contrast and colours (did I say contrast), cheap for an L, hood included, internal focussing (no zoom creep), eyecatching design and body-colour
Cons: no IS version for the F4 model, odd 67mm thread, long & heavy

It has a useful zoom range on a n APS-C body, but I am still struggling to convince myself to take it with me all the time - it's big and heavy. However, its photos have been very crisp, so sharp they look postprocessed! The colours are vivid and photos have a threedimensional feel to them. This "lifelike" imagequality makes it good for nature and people shots.
At the tele end I miss some IS, which is more needed on this one than on the f2.8, which is a stop faster to start with (The f2.8 IS version is out of most people's price range).


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.